The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Great Falls, Montana

Mayors of Great Falls, 1888-2012 (may be incomplete!)
Paris Gibson 1888-89 J. H. Fairfield 1889-92 C. M. Webster 1892-97 R. J. Fitzgerald 1897-99 John A. Collins 1899-1903 J. W. Freeman 1903-05 H. H. Ewing 1905-09 F. P. Auerbach 1909 Charles F. Murphy 1909-11 James W. Speer 1911-13 N. T. Lease 1913-15 A. J. Fousek 1915-19 L. Newman 1919-21 R. M. Armour 1921-23 Harry B. Mitchell 1923-29 A. J. Fousek 1929-33 M. C. Grinde 1933-35 A. J. Fousek 1935-37 Julius J. Wuerthner 1937-41 Ed Shields 1941-45 Fritz Norby 1945-47 J. C. Johnson 1947-49 T. G. Bradford 1949-51 James B. Austin 1951-55 Russell Conklin 1955-57 John W. Steffani 1957-59 William H. Swanbery 1959-63 Marian S. Erdmann 1963-67 John J. McLaughlin 1967-73 Curtis A. Ammondson 1973-75 Donald L. Ostrem 1975-77 John C. Bulen 1977-79 Eugene B. Thayer 1979-81 Shirley A. Kuntz 1981-83 Robert A. Worthington 1983-85 Roger L. Anderson 1986-87 Ardi Aiken 1988-91 Gayle Morris 1992-95 Bob Deming 1996-97 Joan Bennett 1998-99 Randall H. Gray 2000-05 Dona R. Stebbins 2006-09 Michael Winters 2010-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 2005 Nov 8: Dona R. Stebbins, elected; Randall H. Gray, defeated.
  • 2007 Nov 6: Dona R. Stebbins, elected; Ed McKnight, defeated; Susan M. Kahn, defeated; Larry H. Steele, defeated.
  • 2009 Nov 3: Michael Winters, elected; Bill Bronson, defeated.
  • 2011 Nov 8: Michael Winters, elected; Stuart Lewin, defeated.

    Postmasters at Great Falls, 1887-1901 (may be incomplete!)
    Paris Gibson as of 1887 H. O. Chowen as of 1901

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/MT/ofc/greatfalls.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]