The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Billings, Montana

Mayors of Billings, 1885-2012 (may be incomplete!)
John Tully 1885 William P. Matheson 1885-87 James R. Gross 1887-88 E. B. Camp 1888-89 Fred Foster 1889-90 Joseph H. Rinehart 1890-91 George Griggs 1891-92 H. K. Fish 1892-93 John D. Losekamp 1893 Fred Foster 1893-94 George Griggs 1895-97 Henry H. Chapple 1897-98 P. H. Smith 1898-99 Chris Yegen 1899-1901 W. B. George 1901-03 Fred Foster 1903-09 H. J. Thompson 1909-11 Frank Woods 1911-12 Robert Leavens 1912-15 E. A. Gerhart 1915-17 William Milton Johnston 1917-19 W. Lee Mains 1919-21 William V. Beers 1921-25 Edwin Grafton 1925-27 Arthur Trennery 1927-31 Fred Tilton 1931-33 C. J. Williams 1933-37 Charles L. Trott 1937-43 Harry E. Biddinger 1943-49 Thompson T. Rowe 1949-53 Earle Knight 1953-59 Carl J. Clavadetscher 1959-62 Harold E. Gerke 1962-63 Willard E. Fraser 1963-69 Howard E. Hultgren 1969-71 Willard E. Fraser 1971-72 Joseph A. Leone 1972-77 William B. Fox 1977-84 James V. Arsdale 1984-90 Richard L. Larson 1990-96 Chuck F. Tooley 1996-2005 Ronald Tussing 2005-09 Thomas W. Hanel 2009-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1898: Henry H. Chapple, resigned.
  • 1927: Edwin Grafton, resigned.
  • 1933: Fred Tilton, died in office.
  • 1972 Sep 21: Willard E. Fraser, died in office.

    Postmasters at Billings, 1887-1901 (may be incomplete!)
    Edwin R. Birney as of 1887 L. F. Babcock as of 1901

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/MT/ofc/billings.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]