The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Springfield, Missouri

Mayors of Springfield, 1847-2016 (may be incomplete!)
A. Maurice 1847-49 Joseph Burden 1849-51 Warren Graves 1852-56 H. S. Chenoweth 1856 J. S. Kimbrough 1857 Sempronius H. Boyd 1858-60 J. W. Mack 1860-61 Benjamin Kite 1865-66 James H. Creighton 1866 R. B. Owen 1867 J. B. Dexter 1868 William E. Gilmore 1869-70 L. H. Murray 1871-72 Jonathan Fairbanks 1872-73 John McGregor 1873-74 John W. Lisenby 1874-75 Joseph J. Weaver 1875-76 W. A. Hall 1876-77 Homer F. Fellows 1877-79 Joseph McAdoo 1879-80 Marzavan J. Rountree 1880-81 James Abbott 1881-82 George Sale Day 1882-83 John McGregor 1883-84 Ralph Walker 1884-86 J. S. Atkinson 1887-88 Ralph Walker 1888-90 E. D. Parce 1890-94 Jeremiah Fenton 1894-96 V. S. Bartlett 1896-98 W. A. Hall 1898-1900 Ralph Walker 1900-02 J. E. Mellette 1902-04 Ben E. Meyer 1904-06 James Blain 1906-08 Louis P. Ernst 1908-10 Robert E. Lee 1910-12 George Culler 1912-14 Thomas K. Bowman 1914-16 J. J. Gideon 1916-20 W. E. Freeman 1920-28 Thomas H. Gideon 1928-32 Harry D. Durst 1932-40 Harry B. Carr 1940-48 Otis L. Barbarick 1948-51 J. Oliver Gideon 1952 Nathan Karchmer 1952-53 W. L. English 1953-55 Warren M. Turner 1955-57 J. B. Wann 1957-59 David C. Scott 1959-62 E. L. Anderson 1962-67 Carl Stillwell 1967-72 Jim Payne 1972-78 Paul Redfearn 1978-81 Harry C. Strawn 1981-83 George Scruggs 1983-87 Thomas J. Carlson 1988-93 N. L. McCartney 1993-95 Leland Gannaway 1995-98 Thomas J. Carlson 1999 Leland Gannaway 1999-2001 Thomas J. Carlson 2001-09 Jim O'Neal 2009-12 Robert Stephens 2012-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 2012 May 7: Jim O'Neal, resigned.

    Postmasters at Springfield, 1834-1981 (may be incomplete!)
    John Polk Campbell 1834-36 Junius T. Campbell 1836-41 Thomas Shannon 1841 William B. Farmer 1841-45 Robert J. McElhany 1845-49 Peter Apperson 1849 William B. Farmer 1849-52 Calley B. Holland 1852-53 Archibald F. Ingram 1853-54 William Jones 1854-55 Joseph Burden 1855 Nathan Robinson 1855-61 Benjamin Kite 1861-64 Jacob B. Winger 1864-66 Marcus Boyd 1866-67 Permilia C. Stevens 1867-77 Edward R. Shipley 1877-85 William H. Pipkin 1885-90 James Abbott 1890-94 Thomas C. Love 1894-98 Jeremiah Fenton 1898-1902 Jesse B. Ross 1902-10 Elmer E. E. McJimsey 1910-14 Obadiah C. Mitchell 1914-21 George W. Hendrickson 1921-34 Clyde W. Greenwade 1934-35 Clyde W. Greenwade 1935-52 J. Howard Hannah 1952-53 C. Arch Bay 1953-54 C. Arch Bay 1954-81

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/MO/ofc/springfield.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]