The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
St. Louis, Missouri
Mayors, Postmasters, U.S. Land Office officials

Mayors of St. Louis, 1823-2018 (may be incomplete!)
William Carr Lane 1823-29 Daniel D. Page 1829-33 John W. Johnston 1833-35 John Fletcher Darby 1835-37 Wilson Primm 1837 William Carr Lane 1837-40 John Fletcher Darby 1840-41 John D. Daggett 1841-42 George Maguire 1842-43 John M. Wimer 1843-44 Bernard Pratte 1844-46 Peter G. Camden 1846-47 Bryan Mullanphy 1847-48 John M. Krum 1848-49 James G. Barry 1849-50 Luther Martin Kennett 1850-53 John How 1853-55 Washington King 1855-56 John How 1856-57 John M. Wimer 1857-58 Oliver D. Filley 1858-61 Daniel D. Taylor 1861-63 Chauncey I. Filley 1863-64 Ferdinand W. Cronenbold 1864 James S. Thomas 1864-69 Nathan Cole 1869-71 Joseph Brown 1871-75 Arthur B. Barret 1875 Herman Rechtien 1875 James H. Britton 1875-76 Henry Overstolz 1876-81 William L. Ewing 1881-85 David R. Francis 1885-89 George W. Allen 1889 Edward A. Noonan 1889-93 Cyrus P. Walbridge 1893-97 Henry Ziegenheim 1897-1901 Rolla Wells 1901-09 Frederick Kreismann 1909-13 Henry W. Kiel 1913-25 Victor J. Miller 1925-33 Bernard F. Dickmann 1933-41 William D. Becker 1941-43 Aloys P. Kaufmann 1943-49 Joseph M. Darst 1949-53 Raymond R. Tucker 1953-65 Alfonso J. Cervantes 1965-73 John H. Poelker 1973-77 James Conway 1977-81 Vincent C. Schoemehl, Jr. 1981-93 Freeman Bosley, Jr. 1993-97 Clarence Harmon 1997-2001 Francis G. Slay 2001-17 Lyda Krewson 2017-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1833: Samuel Merry, elected, but lost subsequent challenge.
  • 1925: William L. Igoe (Dem), defeated.
  • 1929 Apr 2: Lawrence McDaniel (Dem), defeated.
  • 1943 Aug 1: William D. Becker, died in office.
  • 1944 Nov 7: Aloys P. Kaufmann (Rep), elected.
  • 1945: Aloys P. Kaufmann (Rep), elected.
  • 1965 Mar 9: Alfonso J. Cervantes (Dem), nominated; Raymond R. Tucker (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 1965 Apr 6: Alfonso J. Cervantes (Dem), elected; Maurice R. Zumwalt (Rep), defeated.
  • 1977: John H. Poelker (Dem), defeated in primary.

    Postmasters at St. Louis, 1804-1982 (may be incomplete!)
    Rufus Easton 1804-15 Robert Simpson 1815-18 Aaron T. Crane 1818-19 Elias Rector 1820-22 Wilson P. Hunt 1822-40 Thomas Watson 1840-42 Samuel B. Churchill 1842-45 John M. Wimer 1845-49 Archibald Gamble 1849-54 David H. Armstrong 1854-58 John Hogan 1858-61 Peter L. Foy 1861-67 Joseph S. Fullerton 1867-69 Andrew J. Smith 1869-73 Chauncey I. Filley 1873-78 Samuel Hays 1878-84 Rodney D. Wells 1884-85 William Hyde 1885-90 John B. Harlow 1890-94 James L. Carlisle 1894-98 Frederick W. Baumhoff 1898-1903 Frank Wyman 1903-09 Thomas J. Akins 1909-13 Colin M. Selph 1913-22 Charles E. Caine 1922 Louis Alt 1922 Louis Alt 1922-27 Athol J. Michener 1927 Athol J. Michener 1927-33 W. Rufus Jackson 1933-35 W. Rufus Jackson 1935-43 Bernard F. Dickmann 1943-44 Bernard F. Dickmann 1944-58 Claude I. Bakewell 1958-59 Claude I. Bakewell 1959-82

    Registers of U.S. Land Office at St. Louis, 1816 (may be incomplete!)
    Alexander McNair as of 1816

    Receivers of U.S. Land Office at St. Louis, 1816 (may be incomplete!)
    Samuel Hammond as of 1816

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/MO/ofc/saintlouis.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]