The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Poplar Bluff, Missouri

Mayors of Poplar Bluff, 1897-2014 (may be incomplete!)
James Robert Hogg 1897-99 A. W. Davidson as of 1901 Ed L. Abington as of 1902 John W. Berryman as of 1919 J. L. Raulston as of 1943 A. W. Bartlett as of 1945 A. W. Bartlett as of 1953 E. W. Robinson as of 1954-56 John S. West 1957-63 J. C. Allen 1963-65 James Ruble 1965-66 Earl C. Porter as of 1967 Bernard R. Wheetley as of 1973 Bill Sparks as of 1981 Scott Faughn 2002-04 Ed DeGaris 2013-14 Angela Pearson 2014-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1955 Apr 5: E. W. Robinson (Dem), elected; Tom Cahill (Rep), defeated.

    Postmasters at Poplar Bluff, 1887-1986 (may be incomplete!)
    C. M. Heltibrand as of 1887 Simon Lederer as of 1901 John D. MacDonald 1963-64 John D. MacDonald 1964-86

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/MO/ofc/poplarbluff.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]