The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Kansas City, Missouri

Mayors of Kansas City, 1853-2018 (may be incomplete!)
William H. Gregory 1853-54 Johnston Lykins 1854-55 John Johnson 1855 Milton J. Payne 1855-60 George M. B. Maughs 1860-61 Robert T. Van Horn 1861-62 Milton J. Payne 1862-63 William Bonnifield 1863 Robert T. Van Horn 1863-65 Patrick Shannon 1865-66 Alexander L. Harris 1866-67 Edward H. Allen 1867-68 Alexander L. Harris 1868-69 Francis Reid Long 1869-70 Elijah Milton McGee 1870-71 William Warner 1871-72 Robert H. Hunt 1872-73 Edward Lowe Martin 1873-74 Smith D. Woods 1874-75 Turner A. Gill 1875-77 James W. L. Slavens 1877-78 George M. Shelley 1878-80 Charles A. Chace 1880-81 Daniel A. Frank 1881-82 Thomas B. Bullene 1882-83 James Gibson 1883-84 Leander J. Talbott 1884-85 John W. Moore 1885-86 Henry Christian Kumpf 1886-89 Joseph J. Davenport 1889-90 Benjamin Holmes 1890-92 William S. Cowherd 1892-94 Webster Davis 1894-96 James Monroe Jones 1896-1900 James A. Reed 1900-04 Jay H. Neff 1904-06 Henry M. Beardsley 1906-08 Thomas Theodore Crittenden, Jr. 1908-10 Darius A. Brown 1910-12 Henry L. Jost 1912-16 George H. Edwards 1916-18 James Cowgill 1918-22 Sam B. Strother 1922 Frank H. Cromwell 1922-23 Albert I. Beach 1924-30 Bryce B. Smith 1930-40 Charles S. Keith 1940 John B. Gage 1940-45 William E. Kemp 1946-55 H. Roe Bartle 1955-63 Ilus W. Davis 1963-71 Charles B. Wheeler, Jr. 1971-79 Richard L. Berkley 1979-91 Emanuel Cleaver 1991-99 Kay Barnes 1999-2007 Mark Funkhouser 2007-11 Sly James 2011-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1910 Apr 5: Darius A. Brown (Rep), elected; Andrew F. Evans (Dem), defeated.
  • 1922 Jan 20: James Cowgill, died in office.
  • 1940 Jan 5: Bryce B. Smith, resigned.
  • 1955 Mar 29: H. Roe Bartle, elected; Berl Berry, defeated.
  • 2011 Mar 22: Sly James, elected; Mike Burke, defeated.

    Postmasters at Kansas City, 1846-1977 (may be incomplete!)
    William M. Chick 1846-47 William S. Chick 1847-50 Preston Wright 1850-51 Samuel Geer 1851-53 Lot Coffman 1853-54 Daniel Edgington 1854-55 Joseph C. Ranson 1855-57 Robert T. Van Horn 1857-61 Stephen Hazlett 1861 Francis Foster 1861 W. T. Doane 1861 Francis Foster 1861-65 Albert H. Hallowell 1865-66 Harrison B. Branch 1866-67 Francis Foster 1867-72 John S. Harris 1872-73 Theodore S. Case 1873-85 George M. Shelley 1885-89 Robert S. Adkins 1889 Francis B. Nofsinger 1889-94 Homer Reed 1894-98 Samuel F. Scott 1898-1902 Joseph H. Harris 1902-14 William N. Collins 1914-16 Baylis Steele 1916-24 William E. Morton 1924-25 William E. Morton 1925-33 Alexander W. Graham 1933-34 Alexander W. Graham 1934-49 Alexander F. Sachs 1949 Alexander F. Sachs 1949-57 Jeffrey P. Hillelson 1957-61 Theodoric C. Bland 1961-62 Theodoric C. Bland 1962-77

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/MO/ofc/kansascity.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]