The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Chillicothe, Missouri

Mayors of Chillicothe, 1871-1981 (may be incomplete!)
Elbridge J. Broaddus as of 1871-72 J. O. Trumbo 1875-76 Henry M. Pollard 1876-77 F. W. Trent 1877-78 W. E. Gunby 1878-79 J. T. Johnson 1879-80 Henry Hatch 1880-81 John W. Butner 1881-84 Archibald McVey 1884-85 William E. Crellin 1885-86 James L. Buford 1886-87 Moses Alexander 1887-88 John L. Schmitz 1888-89 David Gordon 1889-90 Elbridge J. Broaddus 1890-91 Charles F. Stewart 1891-92 Frederick H. Hoppe 1892-93 John T. Milbank 1893-94 W. H. Booth 1894-95 Wadsworth D. Leeper 1895-96 Frank S. Miller 1896-97 Isaac Hirsh 1897-99 Robert S. Hall 1899-1900 Thomas J. Hoge 1900-01 Isaac Hirsh 1901-03 W. W. Edgerton 1903-05 Isaac Hirsh 1905-07 Charles F. Adams 1907-09 John H. Taylor 1909-11 Chris Boehner 1911-13 Stephen Hawkins 1913-17 L. A. Chapman 1917-19 Burdette V. Gill 1919-21 Frank Ashby 1921-23 A. R. Coburn 1923-25 William Scruby 1925-27 Harry H. Pardonner 1927-31 John H. Taylor 1931-33 William A. Rensch 1933-35 G. C. Carnahan 1935-39 Murray N. Windle 1939-43 Beal Shaw 1943-44 J. Rex Donovan 1944-45 Frank C. Lang 1945-47 Oscar O. Cooke 1947-49 Robert A. Staton 1949-53 R. B. 'Dick' Taylor 1953-63 Louis H. Stein 1963-65 Frank C. Lang 1965-67 Woodrow W. Kline 1967-71 Roy Rodebaugh 1971-73 Ralph L. Moore 1973-75 Mary E. Smith 1975-77 Cecil Campbell 1977-79 J. T. Oliver 1979-81

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1890 May 5: Elbridge J. Broaddus (Dem), elected; Frank Scruby (Rep), defeated.
  • 1891 May 4: Charles F. Stewart (Rep), elected; Elbridge J. Broaddus (Dem), defeated.
  • 1892 May 3: Frederick H. Hoppe, elected.
  • 1893 May 2: John T. Milbank (Dem), elected.
  • 1943 May 3: Beal Shaw (Dem), elected unopposed.
  • 1944 Jul 31: Beal Shaw, resigned.
  • 1945 May 7: Frank C. Lang (Dem), elected; Luster Carter (Rep), defeated.

    Postmasters at Chillicothe, 1839-1982 (may be incomplete!)
    John Graves 1839 Andrew J. Ellis 1839 Albinus W. Hart 1839-40 Charles Moore 1840-41 Novazembla Johnson 1841-46 Amos Bargdoll 1846-50 William C. Samuel 1850-56 John C. Hill 1856-57 John S. Williams 1857 Thomas B. Jones 1857-61 Benjamin Berry 1861-62 A. S. Hughes 1862-63 Benjamin Berry 1863-65 Howard S. Harbaugh 1865 John Gibson 1865-66 William McIlwrath 1866-69 John M. Voris 1869-71 Eli J. Marsh 1871-85 Benjamin B. Smith 1885-89 John W. Toppass 1889-93 Sherman M. Smith 1893-98 Benjamin F. Beazell 1898-1903 John L. Schmitz 1903-15 John H. Taylor 1915-21 Harry D. McHolland 1921 Harry D. McHolland 1921-26 John M. Gallatin 1926-34 Joseph D. Stewart 1934-35 Joseph D. Stewart 1935-61 Griffith E. Benson 1961-63 Griffith E. Benson 1963-82

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/MO/ofc/chillicothe.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]