The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Cape Girardeau, Missouri

Mayors of Cape Girardeau, 1843-2018 (may be incomplete!)
E. Mason 1843-44 George Washington Juden, Sr. 1844 E. Mason 1844-46 Thomas Johnston 1846-49 Patrick H. Davis 1849-51 Alfred T. Lacey 1851-52 Thomas Baldwin 1852-53 John C. Watson 1853-54 Amasa Alton 1854-55 C. T. Gale 1855-57 John Ivers, Jr. 1857-60 John Albert 1860-62 George H. Cramer 1862-67 George C. Thilenius 1867-73 Edward D. Engleman 1873-77 Leon Joseph Albert 1877-79 George H. Cramer 1879-86 Leon Joseph Albert 1886-91 Harlan P. Pieronnet 1891-95 William H. Coerver 1895-1901 John D. Porterfield 1901-03 Rodney Gayso Whitelaw 1903-05 William H. Coerver 1905-07 Warren C. Patton 1907-09 Merit E. Leming 1909-11 Frederick A. Kage 1911-17 William Hirsch 1917-18 Henry H. Haas 1918-21 James A. Barks 1921-30 Edward L. Drum 1930-36 Charles G. Wilson 1936-38 Edward L. Drum 1938-40 W. Hinkle Statler 1940-43 Raymond E. Beckman 1943-48 Walter H. Ford 1948-52 Manning P. Greer 1952-54 Narvol A. Randol 1954-56 Walter H. Ford 1956-64 Waddy E. Davis 1964-65 Charles A. Hood 1965-66 J. Ronald Fischer 1966-67 J. Hugh Logan 1967-68 A. Robert Price 1968-69 Ivan L. Irvin 1969-70 Howard C. Tooke 1970-78 Paul W. Stehr 1978-81 Howard C. Tooke 1981-86 Francis E. Rhodes 1986-94 Albert M. Spradling III 1994-2002 Jay Knudtson 2002-10 Harry Rediger 2010-18 Bob Fox 2018-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1844: George Washington Juden, Sr., died in office.
  • 1907 Apr 2: Warren C. Patton, elected.
  • 1915 Apr 6: Frederick A. Kage, elected; J. W. Phillips, defeated; Otto Kochtitzky, defeated.
  • 1917 Apr 3: William Hirsch (People's), elected; Frederick A. Kage (Citizens), defeated.
  • 1920: Henry H. Haas, elected.
  • 1934 Apr 3: Edward L. Drum, elected; Henry H. Haas, defeated.
  • 1936 Apr 7: Charles G. Wilson, elected.
  • 1940 Apr 2: W. Hinkle Statler, elected; Edward L. Drum, defeated.
  • 1944 Apr 4: Raymond E. Beckman, elected; Edward L. Drum, defeated.
  • 1948 Apr 6: Walter H. Ford, elected.
  • 1956 Apr 3: Narvol A. Randol, elected; C. C. Feverston, defeated.

    Postmasters at Cape Girardeau, 1806-1970 (may be incomplete!)
    Joseph McFerron 1806-17 Jonas N. Menefee 1817-22 Daniel F. Steinbeck 1822-25 Levi L. Lightner 1825-36 Patrick H. Davis 1836 Ignatius R. Wathen 1836-39 William H. McKnight 1839-41 William W. Braly 1841-43 George L. Porter 1843-45 Welton O. Bannon 1845-47 William H. Yale 1847-61 William S. Watson 1861-63 Louis F. Klostermann 1863-80 William W. Norman 1880-82 August Bierwirth 1882-86 Samuel S. Harris 1886-88 Charles G. Juden 1888-90 George H. Cramer 1890-92 Oscar Cramer 1892-97 William V. Leech 1897-99 August Bierwirth 1899-1903 Edward W. Flentge 1903-16 Thomas J. Juden 1916-21 Henry H. Haas 1921-34 Nat M. Snider 1934-54 Aquilla S. Reed 1954-57 Theodore R. Regenhardt 1957 Theodore R. Regenhardt 1957-70

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/MO/ofc/capegirardeau.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]