The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Brookfield, Missouri

Mayors of Brookfield, 1902-81 (may be incomplete!)
R. N. Bowden as of 1902 J. D. Mendenhall 1910 Herbert L. Anderson as of 1929-30 F. A. Burk 1942-45 G. H. Alexander 1946-47 H. S. 'Dick' Johnson as of 1949 William Manley as of 1951-52 Rollins H. Brownlee 1953-54 Herbert M. Stanley 1953 Robert S. Dorsey 1955-57 Nolan G. Spencer 1957 Frank C. Peery 1961-65 Alfred H. Cerney 1965-69 William Kennedy as of 1972-73 Lavon W. Burris as of 1981

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1930 Apr 1: Herbert L. Anderson, elected; J. D. Mendenhall, defeated.

    Postmasters at Brookfield, 1860-1975 (may be incomplete!)
    Edward H. Dennis 1860-61 Arad P. Dennis 1861-65 Williamson T. Snow 1865-83 James A. Arbuthnot 1883-85 Chauncey W. Freeman 1885-89 Warren D. Crandall 1889-94 John McGowan 1894-98 Josiah V. Martin 1898-1903 Jerome W. Jones 1903-11 George W. Martin 1911-14 Thomas M. Bresnehen 1914-19 Cleo J. Burch 1919-33 Thomas A. Breen 1933-34 Thomas A. Breen 1934-38 George F. Breen 1938-39 George F. Breen 1939-63 Dale D. Smart 1963-65 Emmet Robert Carey 1965 Emmet Robert Carey 1965-75

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/MO/ofc/brookfield.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]