The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Stillwater, Minnesota

Mayors of Stillwater, 1870-2012 (may be incomplete!)
William Holcombe 1870 E. W. Hinner as of 1952-54

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1870 Sep 2: William Holcombe, died in office.
  • 2012 Nov 6: Ted Kozlowski, elected; Tom Corbett, defeated.

    Postmasters at Stillwater, 1850-1974 (may be incomplete!)
    James S. Proctor 1850-53 Harley Curtis 1853-57 Mahlon Black 1857-61 William B. Carter 1861 Abraham Van Vorhes 1861-65 H. Dwight Cutler 1865-79 Edmund G. Butts 1879-87 John McCarthy 1887-92 John Booren 1892-95 Christine Carroll 1895-99 William E. Easton 1899-1912 Frank Withrow 1912-16 Byron J. Mosier 1916-22 Ira E. King 1922-27 Axel M. Croonquist 1927-33 Paul J. Arndt 1933-34 Paul J. Arndt 1934-44 John P. McGillin 1944-45 John P. McGillin 1945-51 Hector A. Hanson 1951-53 Philip Milton Lindbloom 1953-54 Philip Milton Lindbloom 1954-60 John Oscar Luhmann 1960-61 Hector A. Hanson 1961-63 Louis J. Sauvageau 1963-74

    Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1951 Jul 24: John P. McGillin, died in office.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/MN/ofc/stillwater.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]