The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of St. Peter, Minnesota

Mayors of St. Peter, 1865-2016 (may be incomplete!)
E. St. Julien Cox 1865-67 Francis E. Lange 1868-69 William Schimmell 1870-72 Albert Knight 1873-75 Addison L. Sackett 1876-78 Azro A. Stone 1879 Philip Dick, Sr. 1880-82 Gustav W. Steinke 1883-84 Gideon S. Ives 1885 Joseph A. Mason 1886-88 Philip Dick, Sr. 1889-93 Henry Moll 1894-95 Lewis M. Erickson 1896-98 Melville G. Hanscome 1899-1900 William H. Mueller 1901-05 William H. Rounseville 1906 Philip Dick, Sr. 1907-09 Edward Bornemann 1910-12 Philip E. Dick, Jr. 1913-14 Edward Bornemann 1915 Adolph Bornemann 1916-17 William Haesecke 1918-20 Lillien Cox Gault 1921-22 Edward Woehler 1923-30 Arthur H. Bittner 1931-33 Floyd B. Johnson 1933-35 Otto T. Miller 1936-37 Reuben R. Seibert 1938-40 Otto T. Miller 1941-42 Henry B. Seitzer 1942-43 Andrew Cook 1944 John R Faust 1944-46 Henry E. Wiest 1946 Clifford J. Nutter 1947-48 Elmer J. Kliefgen 1949-51 George W. Anderson 1951-52 Richard Konechne 1953-56 Leighton R. Swenson 1957-58 Mark W. Schaus 1959-60 George W. Martens 1960-61 Arthur W. Cook 1962-63 Lamar Hay 1964-65 George W. Martens 1966-70 Douglas C. Pyan 1971-85 William A. Wettergren 1986-89 Peter J. Rheaume 1990-91 Ellery O. Peterson 1992-95 Jerry L. Hawbaker 1996-2005 Timothy J. Strand 2006-15 Chuck Zieman 2016-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1933 Jan 15: Arthur H. Bittner, died in office.
  • 1944 Oct 17: Andrew Cook, died in office.
  • 2011 Nov 8: Timothy J. Strand, elected unopposed.

    Postmasters at St. Peter, 1887-1901 (may be incomplete!)
    J. DeLany as of 1887 William A. Gresham as of 1891 John McCabe as of 1901

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/MN/ofc/saintpeter.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]