The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
St. Paul, Minnesota
Mayors, Town Presidents, Postmasters

Mayors of St. Paul, 1854-2007 (may be incomplete!)
David Olmsted 1854-55 Alexander Ramsey 1855-56 George L. Becker 1856-57 John B. Brisbin 1857-58 Norman W. Kittson 1858-59 Daniel A. Robertson 1859-60 John S. Prince 1860-63 John E. Warren 1863-64 Jacob H. Stewart 1864-65 John S. Prince 1865-67 George L. Otis 1867-68 Jacob H. Stewart 1868-69 James T. Maxfield 1869-70 William Lee 1870-72 Jacob H. Stewart 1872-75 James T. Maxfield 1875-78 William Dawson 1878-81 Edmund Rice 1881-83 Christopher D. O'Brien 1883-85 Edmund Rice 1885-87 Robert A. Smith 1887-92 Frederick P. Wright 1892-94 Robert A. Smith 1894-96 Frank B. Doran 1896-98 Andrew R. Kiefer 1898-1900 Robert A. Smith 1900-08 Daniel W. Lawler 1908-10 Herbert P. Keller 1910-14 Winn Powers 1914-16 Vivian R. Irvin 1916-18 Laurence C. Hodgson 1918-22 Arthur E. Nelson 1922-26 Laurence C. Hodgson 1926-30 Gerhard J. Bundlie 1930-32 William Mahoney 1932-34 Mark H. Gehan 1934-38 William H. Fallon 1938-40 John J. McDonough 1940-48 Edward K. Delaney 1948-52 John E. Daubney 1952-54 Joseph E. Dillon 1954-60 George J. Vavoulis 1960-66 Thomas R. Byrne 1966-70 Charles P. McCarty 1970-72 Lawrence D. Cohen 1972-76 George Latimer 1976-90 James A. Scheibel 1990-94 Norm Coleman 1994-2002 Randy Kelly 2002-06 Chris Coleman 2006-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1890: Andrew R. Kiefer (Rep), defeated.
  • 1898 May 3: Andrew R. Kiefer, elected; Rudolph Schiffman, defeated; William W. Erwin, defeated; Newton R. Frost, defeated; Edwin E. Fisher, defeated.
  • 1989 Sep 12: James A. Scheibel, nominated; Bob Fletcher, nominated; Chris Nicosia, defeated in primary; Russ Bovee, defeated in primary; Sharon Anderson, defeated in primary; Wendy Lyons, defeated in primary; Demiro M. Casillas, defeated in primary; Michael F. Bemis, defeated in primary; Glen Mansfield, defeated in primary.
  • 1989 Nov 7: James A. Scheibel, elected; Bob Fletcher, defeated.
  • 1993 Sep 15: Norm Coleman, nominated; Andy Dawkins, nominated; Ray W. Faricy, defeated in primary; Marlene Johnson, defeated in primary; John Mannillo, defeated in primary; Gerald Isaacs, defeated in primary; Sharon Anderson, defeated in primary; Bob Mayer, defeated in primary; Tom Hilber, defeated in primary; Oscar Roger Quast, defeated in primary; Matthew Casillas, defeated in primary; Glen Mansfield, defeated in primary; Kari Sachs, defeated in primary; Michael Angelo Scalze, Sr., defeated in primary; Bardon Setterquist, defeated in primary; Thomas H. Eddy, defeated in primary.
  • 1993 Nov 2: Norm Coleman, elected; Andy Dawkins, defeated.
  • 1997 Sep 9: Norm Coleman, nominated; Sandy L. Pappas, nominated; Sharon Anderson, defeated in primary; Thomas J. Harens, defeated in primary; Luis A. Lopez, defeated in primary; Doug Jenness, defeated in primary; Glen Mansfield, defeated in primary.
  • 1997 Nov 7: Norm Coleman, elected; Sandy L. Pappas, defeated.
  • 2001 Sep 11: Jay Benanav, nominated; Randy Kelly, nominated; Bob Long, defeated in primary; Jerry Blakey, defeated in primary; Bob Kessler, defeated in primary; Bobbi Megard, defeated in primary; Sharon Anderson, defeated in primary; Bill Hosko, defeated in primary; Marc Anderson, defeated in primary; Maryjane Reagan, defeated in primary; Devon Miller, defeated in primary; Luis A. Lopez, defeated in primary; Thomas A. Fiske, defeated in primary; David R. Buehler, defeated in primary; Bill Dahn, defeated in primary; Honey M. Hervey, defeated in primary.
  • 2001 Nov 6: Randy Kelly, elected; Jay Benanav, defeated.
  • 2005: Chris Coleman, elected; Randy Kelly, defeated.

    Town Presidents of St. Paul, 1850-54 (may be incomplete!)
    Thomas R. Potts 1850-51 Robert Kennedy 1851-52 Bushrod W. Lott 1852-54

    Postmasters at St. Paul, 1846-1972 (may be incomplete!)
    Henry Jackson 1846-49 Jacob W. Bass 1849-53 William H. Forbes 1853-56 Charles S. Cave 1856-60 William M. Corcoran 1860-61 Charles Nichols 1861-65 Jacob H. Stewart 1865-70 Joseph A. Wheelock 1870-75 David Day 1875-87 William Lee 1887-92 Henry A. Castle 1892-96 Robert A. Smith 1896-1900 Andrew Ryan McGill 1900-05 Mark D. Flower 1905-07 Edward Yanish 1907-15 Otto N. Raths 1915-21 Charles J. Moos 1921-33 Arthur A. Van Dyke 1933-34 Arthur A. Van Dyke 1934-55 Sigurd A. Bertelsen 1955-56 Sigurd A. Bertelsen 1956-72

    Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1905 Oct 31: Andrew Ryan McGill, died in office.
  • 1907 Feb 3: Mark D. Flower, died in office.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/MN/ofc/saintpaul.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]