The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Rochester, Minnesota

Mayors of Rochester, 1858-2010 (may be incomplete!)
Moses W. Fay 1858-59 Frederick Augustus Olds 1859-60 W. D. Hurlbut 1860-61 John Clark 1861-62 L. D. Bliss 1862-64 Abram Ozmun 1864-65 John V. Daniels 1865-66 Ozora P. Stearns 1866-68 L. D. Bliss 1868-69 Daniel Heaney 1869-70 Frederic T. Olds 1870-71 O. P. Whitcomb 1871-72 George W. Van Dusen 1872-73 D. H. Williams 1873-75 Daniel A. Morrison 1875-79 L. E. Cowdery 1879-80 Samuel Whitten 1880-82 William Worrall Mayo 1882-83 Samuel Whitten 1883-85 O. S. Porter 1885-87 Andrew Nelson 1887-89 O. S. Porter 1889-90 D. Darling 1890-92 Horace H. Witherstine 1892-95 Wilson A. Allen 1895-96 Horace H. Witherstine 1896-97 J. W. Wagoner 1897-98 B. W. Eaton 1898-99 J. A. Melone 1899-1900 E. L. Sinclair 1900-02 Horace H. Witherstine 1902-03 Archie C. Stevenson 1903-05 Martin Heffron 1905-07 Julius J. Reiter 1907-09 J. C. Thompson 1909-11 William B. Richardson 1911-17 Julius J. Reiter 1917-19 C. D. Brown 1919-23 Julius J. Reiter 1923-25 John T. Lemmon 1925-27 C. D. Brown 1927 Fred W. Haase 1928-29 John T. Lemmon 1930-31 Julius J. Reiter 1931-35 W. A. Moore 1935-39 Paul A. Grassle 1939-47 Claude H. McQuillan 1947-51 Glenn O. Amundsen 1951-53 Claude H. McQuillan 1953-57 Adolph M. Bach 1957-58 Alexander P. Smetka 1958-69 Dewey Day 1969-73 Alexander P. Smetka 1973-79 Chuck Hazama 1979-95 Chuck Canfield 1995-2003 Ardell F. Brede 2003-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1927 Dec 22: C. D. Brown, died in office.
  • 1957 Nov 16: Claude H. McQuillan, died in office.

    Postmasters at Rochester, 1855-1983 (may be incomplete!)
    Robert McCredy 1855 Phineas H. Durfee 1855-57 Nancy Baker 1857-58 John V. Daniels 1858-59 John W. Everstine 1859-61 Joseph A. Leonard 1861-64 Charles C. Jones 1864-65 Samuel Geisinger 1865-66 Moses W. Fay 1866-67 Hattie C. Fay 1867-69 Charles C. Cole 1869-71 George W. Baker 1871 Abram Harkins 1871-83 Joseph H. Wagoner 1883-85 Samuel De Wolf 1885-89 Lyman Tondro 1889-94 Amherst W. Blakely 1894-98 Charles E. Callaghan 1898-1911 John C. Crabb 1911-15 John L. Harwick 1915-20 David L. Williams 1920-21 David L. Williams 1921-35 John W. Feller 1935 John W. Feller 1935-53 Glenn B. Burbach 1953-54 Glenn B. Burbach 1954-56 Stanley F. Drips 1956-57 Stanley F. Drips 1957-83

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/MN/ofc/rochester.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]