The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Minneapolis, Minnesota

Mayors of Minneapolis, 1867-2009 (may be incomplete!)
Dorilus Morrison 1867-68 Hugh G. Harrison 1868-69 Dorilus Morrison 1869-70 Eli B. Ames 1870-72 Eugene M. Wilson 1872-73 George A. Brackett 1873-74 Eugene M. Wilson 1874-75 Orlando C. Merriman 1875-76 Albert A. Ames 1876-77 John de Laittre 1877-78 A. C. Rand 1878-82 Albert A. Ames 1882-84 George A. Pillsbury 1884-86 Albert A. Ames 1886-89 Edward C. Babb 1889-91 Phillip B. Winston 1891-93 William H. Eustis 1893-95 Robert Pratt 1895-99 James Gray 1899-1901 Albert A. Ames 1901-02 David P. Jones 1902-03 James C. Haynes 1903-05 David P. Jones 1905-07 James C. Haynes 1907-13 Wallace G. Nye 1913-17 Thomas Van Lear 1917-19 J. Edward Meyers 1919-21 George E. Leach 1921-29 William F. Kunze 1929-31 William A. Anderson 1931-33 Alexander Gilbert Bainbridge 1933-35 Thomas E. Latimer 1935-37 George E. Leach 1937-41 Marvin L. Kline 1941-45 Hubert H. Humphrey 1945-48 Eric G. Hoyer 1948-57 P. Kenneth Peterson 1957-61 Arthur Naftalin 1961-69 Charles Stenvig 1969-73 Richard M. Erdall 1973 Albert J. Hofstede 1974-75 Charles Stenvig 1976-77 Albert J. Hofstede 1978-79 Donald M. Fraser 1980-93 Sharon Sayles Belton 1994-2001 R. T. Rybak 2002-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1900 Nov 6: Albert A. Ames (Rep), elected.
  • 1902: George W. Higgins (Prohibition), defeated.
  • 1902 Aug 27: Albert A. Ames, resigned.
  • 1923 Jun 11: George E. Leach, elected; William A. Campbell, defeated.
  • 1967: Arne H. Carlson (Rep), defeated; Arthur Naftalin (Democratic-Farmer-Labor), elected.
  • 1979: Brian J. Coyle, defeated.
  • 1993 Sep 14: Sharon Sayles Belton (Democratic-Farmer-Labor), nominated; John E. Derus (Democratic-Farmer-Labor), nominated; Steve Cramer (Democratic-Farmer-Labor), defeated in primary; Rip Rapson (Democratic-Farmer-Labor), defeated in primary; Richard H. Jefferson (Democratic-Farmer-Labor), defeated in primary; George E. Grant (Independent Republican), defeated in primary.
  • 1993 Nov 2: Sharon Sayles Belton (Democratic-Farmer-Labor), elected; John E. Derus (Democratic-Farmer-Labor), defeated.

    Postmasters at Minneapolis, 1854-1970 (may be incomplete!)
    Hezekiah Fletcher 1854 Carlos Wilcox 1854-56 Alfred E. Ames 1856-57 Samuel Hidden 1857-58 William P. Ankeny 1858-61 David Morgan 1861-65 Daniel Bassett 1865-66 William W. McNair 1866-67 Cyrus Aldrich 1867-71 George H. Keith 1871-82 Orlo M. Laraway 1882-86 John J. Ankeny 1886-90 William D. Hale 1890-94 Franklin G. Holbrook 1894-98 Stephen B. Lovejoy 1898-1902 William D. Hale 1902-14 Edward A. Purdy 1914-22 Arch Coleman 1922 Arch Coleman 1922-29 George H. Drake 1929 Arthur J. Schunk 1929-33 William C. Robertson 1933-34 William C. Robertson 1934-35 John R. Coan 1935-36 John R. Coan 1936-53 Leonard F. Ramberg 1953-54 Leonard F. Ramberg 1954-57 Cleve R. Austin 1957-58 Cleve R. Austin 1958-65 Walter John Hogan 1966 Walter John Hogan 1966-70

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/MN/ofc/minneapolis.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]