The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Bloomington, Minnesota

Mayors of Bloomington, 1953-2013 (may be incomplete!)
Herman Kossow 1953-55 Gordon Miklethun 1956-61 Herbert A. Knudsen 1962-63 Donald R. Hasselberg 1964-67 John A. Thomasberg 1968-69 James M. King 1970-73 Robert M. Benedict 1974-77 James H. Lindau 1977-87 Kurt Laughinghouse 1988-89 Neil W. Peterson 1990-95 Coral Houle 1995-99 Gene Winstead 2000-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1977 Jan 3: Robert M. Benedict, resigned.
  • 1977 Jan 10: James H. Lindau, appointed.
  • 1977 Nov 8: James H. Lindau, elected.
  • 1995 Jan 3: Neil W. Peterson, resigned; Coral Houle, appointed.
  • 1995 Nov 7: Coral Houle, elected.
  • 2003 Nov 4: Gene Winstead, elected; Miles W. Collins, defeated.
  • 2007 Nov 6: Gene Winstead, elected; Jeff Andrews, defeated.
  • 2011 Aug 9: Gene Winstead, nominated; Hans Anderson, nominated; Fred Alan, defeated in primary.
  • 2011 Nov 8: Gene Winstead, elected; Hans Anderson, defeated.

    Postmasters at Bloomington, 1881-1901 (may be incomplete!)
    Alexander Cummings as of 1881 A. E. Bailliff as of 1887-1901

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/MN/ofc/bloomington.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]