The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Wyandotte, Michigan
including Glenwood, Ford City
Mayors, Postmasters, Village Presidents

Mayors of Wyandotte, 1867-2013 (may be incomplete!)
John S. VanAlstyne 1867 Charles Partridge 1868-69 Edmund P. Christian 1870 Thomas Jewel 1871-72 O. Colburn 1872 Horace N. Ocobock 1873 Theophilus Langlois 1874 Charles Partridge 1875 John Bittorf 1876 James S. Campbell 1877 John Bittorf 1878 James Keusch 1879-81 Michael Ganley 1881-82 Thomas D. Evans 1882-85 Jerome H. Bishop 1885-87 Fitz A. Kirby 1887-88 Theophilus Langlois 1888-89 William Campbell 1889-92 Daniel Campau 1892-93 Everett N. Clark 1893-95 Walter Lambert 1895-98 William Gartner 1898-99 Henry Roehrig 1899-1901 William Campbell 1901-02 Wallace W. Bishop 1902-03 Elton R. Nellis 1903-05 Jerome H. Bishop 1905-08 James S. McGlaughlin 1908-11 Charles H. Marr 1911-16 Walter C. Lambert 1916-20 Allen S. McClenahen 1920-22 Hubert S. Amiot 1922-28 Ira J. Kreger 1928-31 Joseph A. Smith 1931-32 Arthur W. Edwards 1932 John Clements 1932-33 Thomas A. Davis 1933-40 Louis W. Behm 1940-46 Louis Brohl, Sr. 1946-50 William E. Kreger 1950-57 John E. McCauley 1957-61 James R. DeSana 1961-69 Clifford Clack 1969 William Sullivan 1969-76 George J. Sutka 1976-77 William L. Cook 1977-79 James Wagner 1979-87 James R. DeSana 1987-97 Lawrence Stec 1997-2001 Leonard T. Sabuda 2001-05 James R. DeSana 2005-09 Joseph R. Peterson 2009-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1872: Thomas Jewel, resigned.
  • 1880 Apr 5: James Keusch (Dem), elected.
  • 1900 Apr 3: Henry Roehrig (Dem), elected.
  • 1901 Apr 1: William Campbell (Rep), elected; Ezra Guilfoil (Dem), defeated.
  • 1904 Apr 4: Elton R. Nellis (Rep), elected.
  • 1914 Apr 6: Charles H. Marr, elected; James S. McGlaughlin, defeated.
  • 1916 Apr 3: Walter C. Lambert, elected.
  • 1918 Apr 1: Walter C. Lambert, elected; Hubert S. Amiot, defeated.
  • 1922 Mar 20: Hubert S. Amiot, nominated; Thomas E. Benjamin, nominated.
  • 1922 Apr 3: Hubert S. Amiot, elected; Thomas E. Benjamin, defeated.
  • 1928 Apr 2: Ira J. Kreger, elected; A. C. Droullard, defeated.
  • 1930 Apr 7: Ira J. Kreger, elected.
  • 1932 Apr 4: Arthur W. Edwards, elected.
  • 1932 Aug 12: Arthur W. Edwards, died in office.
  • 1936 Apr 6: Thomas A. Davis, elected; John Clements, defeated.
  • 1940 Apr 1: Louis W. Behm, elected; John C. Kreger, defeated.
  • 1953 Apr 6: William E. Kreger, elected; Linus J. Bloomfield, defeated.

    Postmasters at Wyandotte, 1871-1983 (may be incomplete!)
    Oliver D. Hibbard as of 1871 W. H. Denham as of 1881 J. Drennan as of 1887 William H. Duncan as of 1891 F. S. Johnson as of 1901 Adam Przybylski 1936 Adam Przybylski 1936-53 Albert A. Hebda 1953-57 Albert A. Hebda 1957-68 William S. Jose 1968 Edward C. Szymanowski 1968 Edward C. Szymanowski 1968-83

    (annexed to Wyandotte 1905)

    Village Presidents of Glenwood, 1901 (may be incomplete!)

    Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1901 Mar 11: Samuel J. Lawrence, elected; Rudolph Pilz, defeated.

    Ford City
    (annexed to Wyandotte 1923)

    Village Presidents of Ford City, 1903-22 (may be incomplete!)
    Charles E. Begeman 1922

    Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1903 Mar 9: Ari E. Woodruff (Citizens), elected unopposed.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/MI/ofc/wyandotte.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]