The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Traverse City, Michigan
Mayors, Village Presidents, Postmasters

Mayors of Traverse City, 1899-1967 (may be incomplete!)
William D. C. Germaine 1908-09 William D. C. Germaine 1912-13 L. Swanton as of 1922 James T. Milliken 1930 C. H. Foster as of 1937 Julius C. Sleder as of 1952 Jack Nelson as of 1953 J. Kent Wright as of 1954 Charles H. Round as of 1955 F. H. Power as of 1956 Fritz Coppens as of 1960 Vincent Fachtman as of 1967

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1899 Apr 3: Frank Hamilton (Rep), elected.
  • 1900 Apr 2: Alfred V. Friedrich (Citizens), elected; Frank Hamilton (Rep), defeated.
  • 1903 Apr 6: J. R. Sants (Citizens), elected.
  • 1904 Apr 4: E. J. Fuighum (Rep), elected.
  • 1906 Apr 2: Alfred V. Friedrich, elected.
  • 1910 Apr 4: Emanuel Wilhelm (Dem), elected; James Gillett (Rep), defeated.
  • 1912 Apr 1: William D. C. Germaine (Rep), elected.

    Village Presidents of Traverse City, 1885 (may be incomplete!)

    Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1885 Mar 9: Perry Hannah, elected unopposed.

    Postmasters at Traverse City, 1871-1901 (may be incomplete!)
    Samuel C. Fuller as of 1871-81 M. E. Haskell as of 1887 George W. Raff as of 1891-1901

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/MI/ofc/traversecity.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]