The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Three Rivers, Michigan

Mayors of Three Rivers, 1902-83 (may be incomplete!)
Albert T. Van Alstyn 1920 George Radke as of 1945 Frank R. Warner as of 1954 Samuel M. Smith 1955-63 William A. Cutler 1963-65 Ralph B. Vandenberg 1966-68 Gerald F. Bales as of 1975-79 Norman J. Rivers as of 1983

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1902 Apr 7: Foster (Dem), elected; French (Rep), defeated.
  • 1915 Apr 5: Giles W. Cole, elected.
  • 1935 Apr 1: Oliver T. Avery, elected.
  • 1965 Nov 2: Ralph B. Vandenberg, elected unopposed.

    Postmasters at Three Rivers, 1840-1970 (may be incomplete!)
    Burrowes Moore 1840-46 Hermon H. Cole 1846-49 John Ogden 1849-50 James E. Kelsey 1850-53 Isaac Crosett 1853-61 S. Allen Smith 1861-62 James E. Kelsey 1862-65 Wilber H. Clute 1865-66 Charles W. Fonda 1866-67 Albert B. Ramsey 1867-71 Wilber H. Clute 1871-75 John B. Handy 1875-88 Theron L. Arnold 1888-90 George A. B. Cooke 1890-94 Theron L. Arnold 1894-98 Frank B. Watson 1898-1906 Lester B. Place 1906-14 Herbert I. Wright 1914-23 Webb W. Walter 1923-35 John F. Cross 1935-36 John F. Cross 1936-49 Charles Earl Crout 1949-50 Peter N. White 1950-53 Calvin E. Sands 1953-54 Calvin E. Sands 1954-68 Lillian R. Boeschenstein 1968-70

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/MI/ofc/threerivers.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]