The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Shelby Township, Michigan
including Utica
Township Supervisors, Postmasters

Supervisors of Shelby Township, 1828-2009 (may be incomplete!)
Samuel Axford, Jr. as of 1828-35 J. V. Messmore as of 1933 Fred LaGodna as of 1947-53 Steve S. Skula as of 1955 Fred LaGodna as of 1957 Steve S. Skula as of 1959 Lorin E. Evans as of 1961-65 Kirby Holmes as of 1967-69 Ralph Maccarone as of 2007 Richard Stathakis as of 2008-09

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1933 Mar 6: J. V. Messmore (Dem), nominated; George J. Harris (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 1933 Mar 6: E. Roy Millar (Rep), nominated unopposed.
  • 1933 Apr 3: J. V. Messmore (Dem), elected; E. Roy Millar (Rep), defeated.
  • 2008 Nov 4: Richard Stathakis (Rep), elected unopposed.

    (was part of Shelby Township)

    Postmasters at Utica, 1871-1901 (may be incomplete!)
    William H. Scott as of 1871 J. P. Grant as of 1881 S. P. St. John as of 1887 James A. Grant as of 1891 Fred H. Clark as of 1901

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/MI/ofc/shelby-twp.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]