The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Sault Ste. Marie, Michigan

Mayors of Sault Ste. Marie, 1888-2009 (may be incomplete!)
George W. Brown 1888-89 Otto Fowle 1889-91 George W. Brown 1891-93 A. B. Lang 1893-95 Jay Hursley 1895-97 William Webster 1897 A. E. Bacon 1898 Peter C. Keliher 1898-1900 John G. Stradley 1901-02 Fred R. Price 1903 James L. Lipsett 1903-05 Frank Perry 1905-07 Frank P. Sullivan 1907-11 Andrew J. Short 1911-13 Sherman T. Handy 1913-17 Mark Tymon 1917-20 Francis T. McDonald 1920-22 George Comb 1922-24 Otto Supe 1924-26 Mark Tymon 1926-28 Edwin T. Crisp 1928-32 Andrew J. Short 1932-34 George J. Laundy 1934-38 Paul L. Adams 1938-42 T. B. McKinney 1942-44 Maurice E. Hunt 1944-50 William L. Freeman 1950-52 James Robertson 1952-57 David E. Foster 1957-59 Roy H. Lynn 1959-63 Robert I. Jacobs 1963-65 David E. Foster 1965-66 Levi B. Godin 1966 John O. Harrington 1966-71 Marvin Dahlman 1971-73 Frank Pingatore 1973-77 Jerald A. Peters 1977-83 James A. Alford 1983-89 William E. Lynn 1989-99 Verna P. Lawrence 1999-2001 Anthony G. Bosbous 2001-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1903 Apr 6: James L. Lipsett (Dem), elected.
  • 1907 Apr 1: Frank P. Sullivan (Rep), elected.
  • 1909 Mar 23: Frank P. Sullivan (Rep), nominated; John G. Stradley (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • 1909 Apr 5: Frank P. Sullivan (Rep), elected unopposed.
  • 1911 Mar 21: Andrew J. Short (Dem), nominated unopposed.
  • 1911 Mar 21: John Metzger (Rep), nominated; David Brown (Rep), defeated in primary; Mark Tymon (Rep), defeated in primary; Alf Richards (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • 1911 Apr 3: Andrew J. Short (Dem), elected; John Metzger, defeated.
  • 1913 Mar 5: A. E. Cullis (Dem), nominated; James L. Lipsett (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 1913 Mar 5: Sherman T. Handy (Rep), nominated; W. E. F. Weber (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • 1913 Apr 7: Sherman T. Handy (Rep), elected; A. E. Cullis (Dem), defeated.
  • 1915 Mar 3: John F. Deadman (Dem), nominated unopposed.
  • 1915 Mar 3: Sherman T. Handy (Rep), nominated unopposed.
  • 1915 Apr 5: Sherman T. Handy (Rep), elected; John F. Deadman (Dem), defeated.
  • 1917 Mar 7: A. E. Cullis (Dem), nominated unopposed.
  • 1917 Mar 7: Mark Tymon (Rep), nominated; Sherman T. Handy (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • 1917 Apr 2: Mark Tymon (Rep), elected; A. E. Cullis (Dem), defeated.
  • 1922 Apr 3: George Comb, elected; Thomas J. Watchorn, defeated.
  • 1924 Apr 7: Otto Supe, elected.
  • 1932 Apr 4: Andrew J. Short, elected.
  • 1936 Apr 6: George J. Laundy, elected.
  • 1938 Apr 4: Paul L. Adams, elected.
  • 1957: David E. Foster, elected.
  • 1959: David E. Foster, defeated.
  • 1961: David E. Foster, defeated.
  • 1963: David E. Foster, defeated.
  • 1965 Apr 5: David E. Foster, elected; Robert I. Jacobs, defeated.
  • 1966 Feb 28: David E. Foster, recalled.
  • 1966 Apr 25: John O. Harrington, elected; Levi B. Godin, defeated.
  • 1967 Apr 3: John O. Harrington, elected; David E. Foster, defeated.
  • 1969 Apr 7: John O. Harrington, elected unopposed.
  • 1971 Apr 5: Marvin Dahlman, elected; Frank Pingatore, defeated.
  • 1973 Feb 19: Frank Pingatore, nominated; David E. Foster, nominated; John Kenn, defeated in primary; Edward Leask, defeated in primary; Ronald Calery, defeated in primary; Gregory Long, defeated in primary; Casimir Grace, defeated in primary.
  • 1973 Apr 2: Frank Pingatore, elected; David E. Foster, defeated.

    Postmasters at Sault Ste. Marie, 1871-1973 (may be incomplete!)
    Myron W. Scranton as of 1871-81 L. P. Trempe as of 1887 Chase S. Osborn 1889-93 William Webster as of 1901 Stewart T. Moran 1957-58 Byard G. Raeburn 1958 Byard G. Raeburn 1958-73

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/MI/ofc/saultsaintemarie.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]