The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
St. Clair Shores, Michigan
including Lake Township
Mayors, Village Presidents, Postmasters, Township Supervisors

Mayors of St. Clair Shores, 1951-2007 (may be incomplete!)
Robert E. Harrison 1951-52 Thomas S. Welsh 1952-60 Eugene Ellison 1961-65 Roy M. Geer 1965-69 John A. Roberts 1969-71 Frank J. McPharlin 1971-81 Marcel Werbrouck 1981 John A. Roberts 1981-83 Ted B. Wahby 1983-94 William J. Callahan 1995 Curtis L. Dumas 1995-2002 Robert A. Hison as of 2007

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1965 Apr 5: Roy M. Geer, elected; Joseph C. Soma, defeated.
  • 1967 May 2: Roy M. Geer, elected unopposed.
  • 1969 May 6: John A. Roberts, elected; Thomas L. Tomlinson, defeated.
  • 1971 Nov 2: Frank J. McPharlin, elected unopposed.
  • 1975 Nov 4: Frank J. McPharlin, elected unopposed.
  • 1979 Nov 6: Frank J. McPharlin, elected; John A. Roberts, defeated.
  • 1981 Nov 3: John A. Roberts, elected; LaVern A. Crouchman, defeated.
  • 1983 Nov 8: Ted B. Wahby, elected; C. Steve Baum, defeated.
  • 1987 Sep 15: Ted B. Wahby, nominated; Patricia M. Reaver, nominated; Veronica K. Martindale, defeated in primary.
  • 1987 Nov 3: Ted B. Wahby, elected; Patricia M. Reaver, defeated.
  • 1991 Nov 6: Ted B. Wahby, elected; Gisela S. Clark, defeated.
  • 1995 Sep 12: Curtis L. Dumas, nominated; John M. Maynard, nominated; Robert M. Sawicki, defeated in primary.
  • 1995 Nov 7: Curtis L. Dumas, elected; John M. Maynard, defeated.

    Village Presidents of St. Clair Shores, 1947-49 (may be incomplete!)
    Adrian A. Lingemann as of 1947-49

    Postmasters at St. Clair Shores, 1927-80 (may be incomplete!)
    Russel W. Swhier 1927-30 Walter F. Pratt 1930 Walter F. Pratt 1930-34 Helen MacMillan 1934-36 Helen MacMillan 1936-43 David E. Visnaw 1943-44 David E. Visnaw 1944-55 William F. Kunst 1955-56 William F. Kunst 1956-80

    Lake Township
    (most incorporated as city of St. Clair Shores 1951)

    Supervisors of Lake Township, 1922-50 (may be incomplete!)
    Adrian A. Lingemann 1922-49 Roy E. Visnaw 1949-50

    Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1933 Mar 6: David E. Visnaw (Dem), nominated unopposed.
  • 1933 Mar 6: Adrian A. Lingemann (Rep), nominated; William D. Warfield (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • 1933 Apr 3: Adrian A. Lingemann (Rep), elected; David E. Visnaw (Dem), defeated; Justin W. Rose (Ind), defeated.
  • 1949 Apr 4: Roy E. Visnaw (Dem), elected; Adrian A. Lingemann (Rep), defeated.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/MI/ofc/saintclairshores.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]