The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Saginaw, Michigan
including East Saginaw, Saginaw West Side
Mayors, Postmasters

Mayors of Saginaw, 1857-2015 (may be incomplete!)
Gardner D. Williams 1857-58 George W. Bullock 1859-61 John Moore 1861-63 Peter C. Andre 1863-65 Stewart B. Williams 1865-66 William M. Miller 1866-67 Alfred F. R. Braley 1867-70 William H. Sweet 1870-71 George F. Williams 1871-72 William H. Sweet 1872-73 Benton Hanchett 1873-75 Fred H. Potter 1875-77 George F. Lewis 1877-79 Lyman W. Bliss 1879-81 Arthur Hill 1881-83 Peter C. Andre 1883-84 Charles L. Benjamin 1884-86 Arthur Hill 1886-87 John H. Shackelton 1887-88 Lyman W. Bliss 1888-89 Gilbert M. Stark 1889-90 George W. Weadock 1890-92 William S. Linton 1892-94 William B. Mershon 1895-96 William B. Baum 1896-1904 Henry E. Lee 1904-06 William B. Baum 1906-08 George W. Stewart 1908-12 Albert W. Tausend 1912-13 Ard E. Richardson 1914-15 Hilem F. Paddock 1915-19 Robert F. Johnson 1919 Ben N. Mercer 1919-22 Albert W. Tausend as of 1923-27 George Phoenix 1931-33 John B. Baum 1934 Robert C. Weber 1934-35 Frank Marxer 1936-37 Francis J. McDonald 1937-39 John W. Symons, Jr. 1939-41 William J. Brydges 1941-43 Eric F. Wieneke 1943-45 Harold J. Stenglein 1945-49 Edwin W. Koepke 1949-51 William R. Hart 1951-53 George H. Fischer 1953-55 Maurice E. Brown 1955-57 R. James Harvey 1957-59 R. Dewey Stearns 1959-61 G. Stewart Francke 1961-65 James W. Stenglein 1965-67 Henry G. Marsh 1967-69 Warren C. Light 1969-71 Paul H. Wendler 1971-73 William F. Nelson, Jr. 1973-75 Raymond M. Tortota 1975-77 Joe Stephens 1977-79 Paul P. Prudhomme 1979-81 Ronald M. Bushey 1981-83 Lawrence D. Crawford 1983-87 Delbert J. Schrems 1987-89 Henry H. Nickelberry 1989-93 Gary L. Loster 1993-2001 Wilmer Jones-Ham 2001-05 Carol B. Cottrell 2005-07 Joyce J. Seals 2007-09 Greg Branch 2009-13 Dennis Browning 2013-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1858 Dec 10: Gardner D. Williams, died in office.
  • 1889 Apr 1: Gilbert M. Stark (Dem), elected.
  • 1890 Mar 8: George W. Weadock (Dem), elected; Lyman W. Bliss (Rep), defeated.
  • 1900 Apr 2: William B. Baum (Dem), elected.
  • 1915: William B. Baum, defeated for nomination.
  • 1919: Hilem F. Paddock, resigned.
  • 1923 Apr 2: Albert W. Tausend, elected.
  • 1927 Mar 4: Albert W. Tausend, elected; Sam C. Allen, defeated; John P. Schuch, defeated.
  • 1931 Apr 6: George Phoenix, elected; Frederick Jaeckel, defeated.
  • 1933: George Phoenix, died in office.
  • 1934 May 26: John B. Baum, died in office.
  • 1934 Jun 1: Robert C. Weber, appointed.
  • 1935 Mar 8: Robert C. Weber, elected.
  • 1935 Dec 27: Robert C. Weber, died in office.

    Postmasters at Saginaw, 1871-1969 (may be incomplete!)
    James A. Hudson as of 1871 H. J. Northrup as of 1881 H. J. Northrup as of 1887 Neri B. Kinsey as of 1891 William S. Linton 1898-1914 Charles E. Lown 1914-18 Henry E. Naegely 1918-20 Edward M. Cosgrove 1920-24 Herbert S. Gay 1924-31 Arthur E. Vosburg 1931-32 Ernest E. Vibert 1932 Ernest E. Vibert 1932-33 John D. Mershon 1933-34 John D. Mershon 1934-48 Louis C. Schwinger 1948-51 Leland S. Jennings 1951-52 Helen E. Jennings 1952-53 William A. Munroe 1953-54 William A. Munroe 1954-64 Sam Coffey 1964-65 Melvin C. Muehlenbeck 1965-69

    East Saginaw
    (consolidated with Saginaw 1889)

    Mayors of East Saginaw, 1859-89 (may be incomplete!)
    William L. P. Little 1859-60 William J. Bartow 1860-61 Charles B. Mott 1861-63 William F. Glasby 1863-64 James F. Brown 1864-65 Samuel W. Yawkey 1865-66 Dwight G. Holland 1866-67 Wellington R. Burt 1867-68 James L. Ketcham 1868-70 John G. Owen 1870-71 Leander Simoneau 1871-72 Charles L. Ortman 1872-73 William L. Webber 1873-74 Herbert H. Hoyt 1874-75 Chauncey W. Wisner 1875-77 Bradley M. Thompson 1877-79 John Welch 1879-82 Leander Simoneau 1882-83 Frank Lawrence 1883-84 John S. Estabrook 1884-86 Henry M. Youmans 1886-88 William B. Baum 1888-89

    Postmasters at East Saginaw, 1851-98 (may be incomplete!)
    Alfred M. Hoyt 1851-52 Morgan L. Gage 1852-53 Moses B. Hess 1853-57 George G. Hess 1857-61 De Witt C. Gage 1861-66 Solomon B. Bliss 1866-67 Perry Joslyn 1867-71 George Lockley 1871-75 Thomas Saylor 1875-84 William G. Gage 1884-85 Martin V. Meredith 1885-89 Edwin R. Phinney 1889-94 Abram G. Wall 1894-98

    Saginaw West Side
    (original part of Saginaw)

    Postmasters at Saginaw West Side, 1901 (may be incomplete!)
    Martin N. Brady as of 1901

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/MI/ofc/saginaw.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]