The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Royal Oak, Michigan
Mayors, Village Presidents, Postmasters

Mayors of Royal Oak, 1921-2013 (may be incomplete!)
George A. Dondero 1921-23 A. G. Miller 1923-25 J. Frank Codling 1925 Harold E. Storz 1925-29 H. Lloyd Clawson 1929-37 Evert M. Bangham 1937-38 Fletcher L. Renton 1938-43 Grant D. Maudlin 1943-45 William Hayward 1945-49 Vernald E. Horn 1949-53 Howard K. Kelley 1953-59 William Hayward 1959-63 L. Curtis Potter 1963-69 James P. Cline 1969-75 Pecky D. Lewis, Jr. 1975-81 Peter Webster 1981 Barbara A. Hallman 1981-85 Robert F. Stocker 1985-89 Patricia Paruch 1989-93 Dennis G. Cowan 1993-2001 William Urich 2001-03 Jim Ellison 2003-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1935 Nov 5: H. Lloyd Clawson, elected unopposed.
  • 1943 May 24: Fletcher L. Renton, resigned.
  • 2011 Nov 8: Jim Ellison, elected unopposed.
  • 2013 Nov 5: Jim Ellison, elected unopposed.

    Village Presidents of Royal Oak, 1901 (may be incomplete!)

    Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1901 Mar 11: Frank Knowls, elected.

    Postmasters at Royal Oak, 1871-1969 (may be incomplete!)
    John G. Hutchins as of 1871 Jacob Erb as of 1881 L. Storz as of 1887 Jacob Erb as of 1891 Jacob Erb as of 1901-11 Lee J. Campbell 1931-34 Gilbert H. Davis 1934-35 Gilbert H. Davis 1935-42 Bruce S. Trace 1942-43 Bruce S. Trace 1943-54 Grant D. Maudlin 1954-56 Grant D. Maudlin 1956-69

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/MI/ofc/royaloak.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]