The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Port Huron, Michigan
including Fort Gratiot
Mayors, Village Presidents, Postmasters

Mayors of Port Huron, 1857-2005 (may be incomplete!)
William L. Bancroft 1857 Edgar White 1858 Newell Avery 1859 John Miller 1860 Calvin Ames 1861-62 Frederick L. Wells 1863 Cyrus Miles 1864-65 Jared Kibbee 1866 John Johnston 1867 John L. Newell 1868 John Hibbard 1869 Samuel L. Boyce 1870 John Miller 1871-72 John Johnston 1873 Nathan S. Boynton 1874-75 Samuel L. Boyce 1876 Daniel N. Runnels 1877-78 Edmond Fitzgerald 1879-80 Joseph Jacobi 1880 Ezra C. Carleton 1881 Henry Howard 1882 John G. O'Neill 1883-84 Elliott G. Stevenson 1885 Myron Northup 1886 William Hartsuff 1887 Frank J. Haynes 1888 James B. McIlwain 1889-92 Seward L. Merriam 1893 Nathan S. Boynton 1894-97 Herman W. Stevens 1898-99 Fred T. Moore 1900-02 Albert Graves 1903-04 Clark E. Spencer 1905-06 John J. Bell 1907-12 Frederic J. Dixon as of 1913 John L. Black as of 1914-19 John V. French as of 1920-23 John B. McIlwain as of 1924 James Dunn as of 1926 John J. Bell as of 1927-28 Fred J. Kemp as of 1930-33 George L. Harvey as of 1935-38 Harry L. Gillow as of 1946 Frank O. Staiger as of 1950 Thomas E. Woods as of 1952-55 Etta M. Reid as of 1956 R. L. Patterson as of 1960 Charles R. Chandler as of 1967 Gerald Ackerman 1997-99 Steven Miller 1999 B. Mark Neal as of 2002-05

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1880 Apr 5: Joseph Jacobi (Dem), elected.
  • 1913 Nov 4: John L. Black, elected; Frederic J. Dixon, defeated.
  • 1935 Nov 5: George L. Harvey, elected; David Hanton, Jr., defeated.
  • 1999 Apr 7: Gerald Ackerman, resigned.

    Village Presidents of Port Huron, 1849-56 (may be incomplete!)
    Lorenzo M. Mason 1849 Martin S. Gillett 1850 Daniel B. Harrington 1851 Alonzo E. Noble 1852 Wellington Davis 1853 Alvah Sweetser 1854 Newell Avery 1855 John Miller 1856

    Postmasters at Port Huron, 1871-1972 (may be incomplete!)
    William Hartsuff as of 1871-81 William Springer as of 1887 Alexander R. Avery as of 1891 Loren A. Sherman as of 1901 Burt D. Cady as of 1911 Cornelius J. Sullivan 1952-53 Robert J. McIntosh 1953-55 Robert J. McIntosh 1955-56 Roy J. Murray 1956-58 Roy J. Murray 1958-72

    Fort Gratiot
    (merged with Port Huron 1893)

    Mayors of Fort Gratiot, 1889-93 (may be incomplete!)
    Robert E. French 1889 John L. Newell 1890 Peregrine M. Edison 1891 William R. Stewart 1892-93

    Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1889 Apr 1: Robert E. French (Rep), elected.

    Village Presidents of Fort Gratiot, 1881-89 (may be incomplete!)
    O'Brien J. Atkinson 1881-82 Thomas Sutherland 1883 Hiram Morse 1884 David C. Berry 1885-86 Sylvester W. Merritt 1887-89

    Postmasters at Fort Gratiot, 1871-91 (may be incomplete!)
    Robert E. French as of 1871-83 Julius Granger as of 1887 Clayton G. Brown as of 1891

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/MI/ofc/porthuron.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]