The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Northfield Township, Michigan
including Whitmore Lake
Township Supervisors, Postmasters

Supervisors of Northfield Township, 1833-1906 (may be incomplete!)
John Renwick 1833-35 Rufus Matthews 1835-37 John Renwick 1837-38 George Sutton 1838-40 John Renwick 1840-41 Lucien B. Barker 1841-42 Rufus Matthews 1842-44 John Renwick 1844-45 Rufus Matthews 1845-46 Nathan Salyer 1846-48 George Sutton 1848-49 John Renwick 1849-50 Rufus Matthews 1850-53 Nathan Salyer 1853-54 Ira Harker 1854-55 James Clancy 1855-56 Philip Winegar 1856-59 Joseph Pray 1859-60 Patrick McKernan 1860-62 Philip Winegar 1862-63 Patrick McKernan 1863-65 Joseph Pray 1865-66 John Ryan 1866-67 Patrick Wall 1867-72 George Renwick 1872-75 Emory E. Leland 1875-76 Nathan E. Sutton 1876-78 Patrick S. Purtell 1878-81 William Walsh 1881-83 Patrick S. Purtell 1883-88 Frank Duncan 1888-91 Philip Duffy 1891-93 Frank Duncan 1893-95 Emory E. Leland 1895-97 William Donnegan 1897-99 Theodore F. Prochnow 1899-1900 Jay G. Pray 1900-03 T. Frank Taylor 1903-05 Jay G. Pray 1905-06

Whitmore Lake
(mostly within Northfield Township)

Postmasters at Whitmore Lake, 1871-1976 (may be incomplete!)
Nelson S. Hallock as of 1871 Douglas J. Stevens as of 1873-81 J. D. Stevens as of 1887-91 Henry P. Dodge as of 1901 Howard S. McCormick 1930-31 Howard S. McCormick 1931-45 Howard J. O'Brien 1945-50 Basil M. Stanfield 1950-51 Marguerite V. Smalley 1951-54 George J. Danneffel 1954-56 Harold G. Weller 1956-57 Harold G. Weller 1957-59 Paul L. Sider 1959-61 John M. McNamara 1961 John M. McNamara 1961-76

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/MI/ofc/northfield-twp.html .  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]