The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Niles, Michigan
Mayors, Village Presidents, Postmasters

Mayors of Niles, 1859-2011 (may be incomplete!)
Elijah Lacey 1859 Rufus W. Landon 1860-62 Henry M. Dean 1863 A. S. Howard 1864 Rufus W. Landon 1865 Evan J. Bonine 1866 Jacob Geltmacher 1867 Evan J. Bonine 1868 F. L. Muzzy 1869-72 Rodney C. Paine 1873 S. G. Krick 1874 William Graves 1875-76 Royal T. Twombly 1877 George W. Platt 1878 S. G. Krick 1879 Francis M. Gray 1880-81 Benjamin Frankenberg 1882 Cholwell Knox 1883 T. G. Beaver 1884 W. Irving Babcock 1885-86 George W. Dougan 1887 Evan J. Bonine 1888 T. G. Beaver 1889 Orville W. Coolidge 1890-91 William T. Dougan 1892 J. E. French 1893 E. C. Woodcock 1894-95 Frederick W. Richter 1896-97 W. J. Gilbert 1898-1900 F. N. Bonine 1900-01 Zell L. Baldwin 1901-02 Carmi R. Smith 1903 L. E. Wood 1903 Lewis H. Beeson 1904 Matthew Stoll 1905-06 B. F. Earl as of 1907-09 Carmi R. Smith 1912-13 William F. Phillips 1913 John E. Ames as of 1936-37 Leonard E. Thompson as of 1952 Russell E. Thomas as of 1953-54 Edwin Cramer as of 1955-56 Mowitt Drew as of 1960 Herbert Benington as of 1967

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1900 Apr 2: F. N. Bonine (Rep), elected.
  • 1902 Apr 7: Zell L. Baldwin (Dem), elected.
  • 1903: Carmi R. Smith, resigned.
  • 1903 Apr 6: Carmi R. Smith (Rep), elected.
  • 1904 Apr 4: Lewis H. Beeson (Dem), elected.
  • 1906 Apr 2: Matthew Stoll (Dem), elected.
  • 1907 Apr 1: B. F. Earl (Rep), elected.
  • 1908 Apr 6: Matthew Stoll (Dem), elected.
  • 1909 Apr 5: B. F. Earl (Rep), elected.
  • 1910 Apr 4: Homer S. Carr (Dem), elected; Charles M. Montague (Rep), defeated.
  • 1912 Apr 1: Carmi R. Smith (Rep), elected.
  • 1913 Apr 7: William F. Phillips (Dem), elected; Carmi R. Smith (Rep), defeated.
  • 1919 Apr 7: F. N. Bonine (Rep), elected.
  • 1932 Apr 4: W. H. Corbett (Dem), elected; Thomas Britton (Rep), defeated.
  • 1936 Apr 4: John E. Ames, elected.
  • 2011 Nov 8: Mike McCauslin, elected; W. Tim Skalla, defeated.

    Village Presidents of Niles, 1839-58 (may be incomplete!)
    Erasmus Winslow 1839 Jacob Beeson 1840 William B. Beeson 1841 George Goodman 1842 John K. Finley 1843 C. K. Green 1844 William Graves 1845 Jasper Mason 1846 A. J. Clark 1847 Rodney C. Paine 1848-54 John K. Finley 1855 Elijah Lacey 1856-58

    Postmasters at Niles, 1829-1973 (may be incomplete!)
    Samuel B. Walling 1829-30 Isaac Gray 1830 Abraham Edwards 1830-31 Titus B. Willard 1831-35 C. K. Green 1835-36 Zebulon P. Mason 1836-38 Edwin N. Bridges 1838-39 Rufus W. Landon 1839-41 Joseph C. Larimore 1841-45 Samuel W. B. Chester 1845-49 Noah Brookfield 1849-51 George Goodman 1851-53 William H. McComber 1853-61 Francis Quinn 1861-63 Harvey Palmer 1863-66 William J. Edwards 1866-67 Harvey Palmer 1867-69 Edward S. Jewett 1869-73 Evan J. Bonine 1873-86 William J. Edwards 1886-89 Lawson A. Duncan 1889-94 James M. Babcock 1894-98 Edwin S. Williams 1898-1903 Carmi R. Smith 1903-11 Thomas C. Hance 1911-16 Frederick W. Richter 1916-24 Arthur G. Stone 1924-35 Fred C. Franz 1935-36 Fred C. Franz 1936-47 Collins H. Luth 1947-49 Collins H. Luth 1949-65 Donald L. Whalen 1965-66 Donald L. Whalen 1966-73

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/MI/ofc/niles.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]