The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Negaunee, Michigan

Mayors of Negaunee, 1879-1967 (may be incomplete!)
Edward Breitung as of 1879-80 Alexander Maitland 1880 Edward Breitung as of 1882 Thomas L. Collins 1933-35 Bert Agnoli 1935-36 Leslie W. Richards 1938-42 George E. Sivula as of 1952-53 G. Vance Hiney as of 1954 Fred Harris as of 1955 Howard B. Lehto as of 1956 C. J. Trotochawd as of 1967

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1900 Apr 2: P. B. Kirkwood (Rep), elected; Edward C. Anthony (Labor), defeated.
  • 1904 Apr 4: Hudson, elected.
  • 1906 Apr 2: Joseph H. Winter, elected.
  • 1908 Apr 6: Joseph H. Winter (Ind), elected.
  • 1909 Apr 5: Joseph H. Winter (Citizens), elected.
  • 1910 Apr 4: J. W. Elliott (Ind), elected.
  • 1914 Apr 6: William H. Heggalon (Citizens), elected.
  • 1915 Apr 5: William H. Heggalon, elected.
  • 1922 Apr 3: F. D. Klingslund, elected.
  • 1932 Apr 4: Thomas L. Collins, elected.
  • 1935 Apr 1: Bert Agnoli (People's), elected; Harry W. Trembath (Taxpayers), defeated.
  • 1936 Apr 6: Bert Agnoli, elected.
  • 1938 Apr 4: Leslie W. Richards (Taxpayers), elected.

    Postmasters at Negaunee, 1871-1911 (may be incomplete!)
    Lewis D. Cyr as of 1871 Clinton G. Guffey as of 1881-83 Delia A. Kruse as of 1887 Clinton G. Guffey as of 1891 John D. Stephens as of 1901 Thomas Connors as of 1911

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/MI/ofc/negaunee.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]