The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Mt. Clemens, Michigan

Mayors of Mt. Clemens, 1879-2009 (may be incomplete!)
Joshua B. Dickinson 1879 George M. Crocker 1879-81 Spencer B. Russell 1881-83 Judson S. Farrar 1883-85 John E. Van Eps 1885-87 George W. Robertson 1887-88 William J. Daley 1888-89 Thomas M. Crocker 1889-91 Andrew Bliss Chapin 1891-92 William C. Tennant 1892-94 Andrew Trew Donaldson 1894-98 W. D. Wilson 1898-99 Reuben C. Ullrich 1899-1901 William F. Berry 1901-02 Martin Crocker 1902-03 Albert A. Parisot 1903-04 John H. Westendorf 1904-06 Varnum J. Bowers 1906-09 Paul J. Ullrich 1909-11 Varnum J. Bowers 1911-12 Duncan B. Hubbard 1912-13 William F. Nank 1913-16 Varnum J. Bowers 1916-17 Albert A. Parisot 1917-18 A. Frank Sarns 1918-23 William M. Streit 1923-31 Charles R. Ullrich 1931-34 Donald R. Westendorf 1934-45 Albert A. Wagner 1945-51 Philip T. Mulligan 1951-55 Harold Lindsey 1955-57 Harry T. Diehl 1957-61 Abraham S. Levine 1961-73 Bert VandeVusse 1973-81 Ada Davis Eisenfeld 1981-85 Jeanne T. Nelson 1985-87 Quinnie E. Cody 1987-99 Harry T. Diehl 1999-2001 Quinnie E. Cody as of 2002 Barb R. Dempsey as of 2007-09

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1880 Apr 5: George M. Crocker (Dem), elected.
  • 1900 Apr 2: Reuben C. Ullrich (Rep), elected.
  • 1902 Apr 7: Martin Crocker (Dem), elected.
  • 1903 Apr 6: Albert A. Parisot (Rep), elected.
  • 1904 Apr 4: John H. Westendorf (Dem), elected.
  • 1906 Apr 2: Varnum J. Bowers (Dem), elected.
  • 1907 Apr 1: Varnum J. Bowers (Dem), elected.
  • 1908 Apr 6: Varnum J. Bowers (Dem), elected.
  • 1910 Apr 10: Paul J. Ullrich (Citizens), elected unopposed.
  • 1912 Apr 1: Duncan B. Hubbard (Rep), elected.
  • 1913 Apr 7: William F. Nank (Rep), elected.
  • 1914 Apr 6: William F. Nank (Rep), elected.
  • 1915 Apr 5: William F. Nank, elected.
  • 1931 Apr 6: Charles R. Ullrich, elected; William M. Streit, defeated.
  • 1933 Mar 6: Charles R. Ullrich, nominated; Robert G. Peltier, nominated; Herman W. Timpf, defeated in primary; A. B. Allen, defeated in primary.
  • 1933 Apr 3: Charles R. Ullrich, elected; Robert G. Peltier, defeated.
  • 1935 Apr 1: Donald R. Westendorf, elected unopposed.
  • 1949 Apr 4: Albert A. Wagner, elected; R. Roy Shook, defeated.
  • 1967 Apr 3: Abraham S. Levine, elected unopposed.
  • 1987 Sep 15: Quinnie E. Cody, nominated; Michael J. Shamaly, nominated; Jeanne T. Nelson, defeated in primary.
  • 1987 Nov 3: Quinnie E. Cody, elected; Michael J. Shamaly, defeated.
  • 1989 Nov 7: Quinnie E. Cody, elected unopposed.
  • 1991 Nov 5: Quinnie E. Cody, elected unopposed.
  • 1993 Nov 2: Quinnie E. Cody, elected unopposed.
  • 1997 Nov 4: Quinnie E. Cody, elected; Salisbury, defeated.
  • 1999 Nov 2: Harry T. Diehl, elected unopposed.
  • 2009 Nov 3: Barb R. Dempsey, elected; Steven Ferdig, defeated.

    Postmasters at Mt. Clemens, 1871-1911 (may be incomplete!)
    James H. Snook as of 1871 George W. Snooks as of 1881 J. Otto as of 1883 F. G. Kendrick as of 1887 William Jenney as of 1891 Edward G. Folsom as of 1901 Frank E. Nellis as of 1911

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/MI/ofc/mountclemens.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]