The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Monroe, Michigan

Mayors of Monroe, 1837-2005 (may be incomplete!)
George B. Harleston 1837 James Q. Adams 1838 Dan B. Miller 1839-40 Robert McClelland 1841 Walter P. Clark 1842 James J. Godfroy 1843 Levi S. Humphrey 1844 James J. Godfroy 1845 Henry Smith 1846 Samuel J. Holley 1847 Harry V. Man 1848 James Armitage 1849 John Burch 1850 Edward G. Morton 1851 David A. Noble 1852 Silas R. Arnold 1853 Walter W. Prentiss 1854 George W. Strong 1855 Eldridge G. Brigham 1856 Frederick Waldorf 1857-59 Roderick O'Connor 1860-61 Joseph M. Sterling 1862-63 Silas R. Arnold 1864-65 Frederick Waldorf 1866 Thomas Doyle 1867 Frederick Waldorf 1868 Alfred J. Sawyer 1869-70 Heman J. Redfield 1871-75 George Spalding 1876 Alfred J. Sawyer 1877 Jacob VanWormer 1878 H. Shaw Noble 1879-80 Burton Parker 1881-82 H. Shaw Noble 1883-84 Edwin R. Gilday as of 1885-86 George R. Hurd as of 1887-88 Charles A. Golden 1889 George F. Heath 1890 George F. Heath 1896-97 Jacob Martin 1901-03 George F. Heath 1906 Jacob Martin 1909-11 Frederick C. Deinzer 1912-13 James H. Gilmore 1922-25 James H. Gilmore 1930 C. B. Southworth 1930-31 Jacob Martin 1932 George Danz 1932-33 Daniel A. Knaggs 1934-39 Arthur W. Karch 1939-40 Nick J. Rohan 1940 Charles L. Haas 1940-41 George Danz 1942-45 Lloyd W. Clime 1946-49 Norbert F. Yaeger 1950-51 Albert J. Davis as of 1952-54 Leslie H. Gruber as of 1954-55 Milton J. H. Knabusch 1956-59 Lawrence A. Frost 1960-63 William J. Agusta 1964-65 Morton R. Cohn 1966-67 John F. VanSlambrouck 1968-69 Richard A. Sieb 1970-71 James Mackin 1972-73 Milton P. Munson 1974-79 Samuel Mignano, Jr. 1980-83 Kirk McMullen 1984-87 Samuel Mignano, Jr. 1988-91 C. D. 'Al' Cappuccilli 1992- John R. Iacoangeli as of 2005

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1889 Apr 1: Charles A. Golden (Dem), elected.
  • 1900 Apr 2: Frederick C. Deinzer (Rep), elected; James I. Roberts (Dem), defeated.
  • 1903 Apr 6: Jacob Martin (Dem), elected.
  • 1904 Apr 4: Victor Sisung (Dem), elected.
  • 1906 Apr 2: George F. Heath (Rep), elected.
  • 1908 Apr 6: Boyez Dansard (Dem), elected.
  • 1909 Apr 5: Jacob Martin (Dem), elected.
  • 1910 Apr 4: Jacob Martin (Dem), elected unopposed.
  • 1912 Apr 1: C. Orvis (Dem), defeated; Frederick C. Deinzer (Rep), elected.
  • 1930: James H. Gilmore, died in office.
  • 1931: C. B. Southworth, defeated; Arnold Renner, defeated; Jacob Martin, elected.
  • 1932: George Danz, appointed.
  • 1932 Dec 12: Jacob Martin, died in office.
  • 1933: Daniel A. Knaggs, elected; George Danz, defeated; George Percy, defeated; John S. McMillan, defeated.
  • 1935 Dec 2: Daniel A. Knaggs, elected.
  • 1937: Daniel A. Knaggs, elected; Orion P. Barron, defeated.
  • 1939 Apr 3: Arthur W. Karch, elected; Orion P. Barron, defeated; A. J. Arnold, defeated.
  • 1939 Dec 4: Arthur W. Karch, elected unopposed.
  • 1940 Apr 29: Arthur W. Karch, died in office.
  • 1940 Jun 17: Charles L. Haas, elected; George Danz, defeated; Nick J. Rohan, defeated.
  • 1941 Dec 1: George Danz, elected; Charles L. Haas, defeated.
  • 1943 Dec 6: George Danz, elected unopposed.
  • 1945 Dec 3: Lloyd W. Clime, elected; Nick J. Rohan, defeated.
  • 1947 Dec 1: Lloyd W. Clime, elected unopposed.
  • 1949 Apr 4: Norbert F. Yaeger, elected; Harry L. Carpenter, defeated.

    Postmasters at Monroe, 1871-1972 (may be incomplete!)
    Milo D. Hamilton as of 1871 W. A. Noble as of 1881 O. A. Crichett as of 1883 H. Shaw Noble as of 1887 Henry R. Austin as of 1891 George Spalding as of 1901 Charles E. Kirby as of 1911 Robert G. Brown 1957-58 Robert G. Brown 1958-72

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/MI/ofc/monroe.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]