The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Marshall, Michigan
Mayors, Village Presidents, Postmasters

Mayors of Marshall, 1859-2013 (may be incomplete!)
Charles P. Dibble 1859-60 D. Darwin Hughes 1860-62 Preston Mitchell 1862-63 Abner Pratt 1863 Charles Cameron 1863-64 Joseph C. Frink 1864-65 Justin D. Wooley 1865-69 Augustus O. Hyde 1869-70 Frederick Karstaedt 1870-71 John Adams 1871-72 David S. Beach 1872-73 Samuel J. Burpee 1873-74 William H. Porter 1874-76 William Powell 1876-77 Henry L. Joy 1877-78 Edward Magee 1878-79 John Adams 1879-81 William H. Porter 1881-83 Martin V. Wagner 1883-86 George H. Greene 1886-87 Martin V. Wagner 1887-88 Norris J. Frink 1888-89 John Wiseman 1889-90 W. E. Bosley 1890-91 William H. Porter 1891-92 S. F. Dobbins 1892-93 John E. Foley 1893-94 Hammond J. Coleman 1894-95 Franklin W. Dickey 1895-96 Marvin Ferguson 1896-97 E. H. Grant 1897-99 Miles Townsend 1899-1900 John Powell 1900-02 Frank M. Foote 1902-04 James C. Beckwith 1904-06 Bert L. Gardanier 1906-08 George W. Leedle 1908-09 E. E. Sawdy 1909-13 Charles E. Gauss 1913-15 O. J. Reniger 1915-16 Myron E. Cook 1916-18 Daniel W. Moon 1918-20 L. E. Brooks 1920-22 J. D. Wright 1922-24 E. D. Greenfield 1924-25 Harold C. Brooks 1925-31 Charles H. Clute 1931-32 Fred J. Smith 1932-33 William G. Thick 1933-36 Clyde C. Cortright 1936-37 Charles H. Clute 1937-38 Platt A. Mumaw 1938-40 Stowell C. Stebbins 1941-43 Hewitt Coleman 1944-45 William B. Holt 1946-47 Lewis Storr 1948-52 John F. Schnaitman 1953 Hubert J. Brown 1953-56 Hewitt Coleman 1957-60 Milford Mayo 1961-62 George Hindenach 1963-64 Edgar B. Lincoln 1965-68 Douglas P. O'Leary 1969-72 Bruce A. Gray 1973-74 Murray Crawford 1975-76 George P. Brown, Jr. 1977-82 J. Allen Bassage 1983-88 Joseph Schroeder 1989-92 Bruce Rasher as of 1995-96 John F. Miller as of 1999-2004 Bruce R. Smith 2007-10 James L. Dyer 2011-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1863 Mar 27: Abner Pratt, died in office.
  • 1880 Apr 5: John Adams (Rep), elected.
  • 1889 Apr 1: John Wiseman (Dem), elected.
  • 1900 Apr 2: John Powell (Dem), elected.
  • 1901 Apr 1: John Powell (Dem & Union Silver), elected; Frank B. Snyder (Rep), defeated.
  • 1902 Apr 7: Frank M. Foote (Dem), elected; John F. Gauss (Rep), defeated.
  • 1906 Apr 2: Bert L. Gardanier (Dem), elected.
  • 1912 Apr 1: E. E. Sawdy (Dem), elected.
  • 1915 Apr 5: Charles E. Gauss, elected.
  • 1917 Apr 2: Myron E. Cook (Rep), elected.
  • 1932 Apr 4: Fred J. Smith (Rep), elected; Charles H. Clute (Dem), defeated.
  • 1933 Apr 3: William G. Thick (Rep), elected; Charles H. Clute (Dem), defeated.
  • 1935 Apr 1: William G. Thick (Rep), elected.
  • 1936 Apr 6: Clyde C. Cortright (Rep), elected; Philip Marquardt (Dem), defeated.
  • 1938 Apr 4: Platt A. Mumaw (Rep), elected.
  • 1996 Nov 5: Bruce Rasher, elected unopposed.
  • 1998 Nov 3: John F. Miller, elected unopposed.
  • 2000 Nov 7: John F. Miller, elected unopposed.
  • 2002 Nov 5: John F. Miller, elected unopposed.
  • 2004 Nov 2: Duane Cowgill, elected; Matthew Davis, defeated.
  • 2006 Nov 7: Bruce R. Smith, elected; Louis Giannunzio, defeated; Matthew L. Glaser, defeated.
  • 2008 Nov 4: Bruce R. Smith, elected; Matthew L. Glaser, defeated.
  • 2010 Nov 2: James L. Dyer, elected; Brian Mason, defeated.
  • 2012 Nov 6: James L. Dyer, elected; Eldon J. Vincent, defeated.

    Village Presidents of Marshall, 1837-59 (may be incomplete!)
    Sidney S. Allcott 1837-39 Luther W. Hart 1839-40 Joseph C. Frink 1840-42 Joseph Chedsey 1842-43 Ira Tillotson 1843-44 Ira Wood 1844-45 Ira Tillotson 1846-47 Charles Dickey 1847 Nathaniel H. Humphrey 1847-48 Lansing Kingsbury 1848-49 Randall Watrous 1849-50 Zenas Tillotson 1850-51 James H. Hahn 1851-52 Henry A. Woodruff 1852-54 Isaac E. Crary 1854 Joseph C. Frink 1854-55 Nathaniel H. Humphrey 1855-56 Horace A. Noyes 1856-57 E. O. Crittenden 1857-58 Lucius G. Noyes 1858-59

    Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1854 May 8: Isaac E. Crary, died in office.

    Postmasters at Marshall, 1871-1911 (may be incomplete!)
    Hubert A. Read as of 1871 Samuel J. Burpee 1874-84 Samuel S. Lacey as of 1887 Stephen F. Snyder as of 1891 William H. Arthur as of 1901 James P. Hughes as of 1911

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/MI/ofc/marshall.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]