The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Marquette, Michigan
including Carp River, Worcester
Mayors, Postmasters

Mayors of Marquette, 1868-2002 (may be incomplete!)
Matthew H. Maynard 1868-70 N. D. Smith 1871 Henry H. Stafford 1871 Samuel P. Ely 1872-73 Alfred P. Swineford 1874-75 James Pickands 1876 Francis M. Moore 1877 James P. Pendill 1878-81 Jeffrey Coles 1882 Samuel W. Wheeler 1883 F. B. Spear 1884-85 Henry C. Thurber 1886 Timothy Nester 1887 F. O. Clark 1888-89 John Munro Longyear 1890-91 Sidney Adams 1892 Nathan M. Kaufman 1893-94 John H. Jacobs 1895-96 James E. Sherman 1897 Joseph F. Neidhart 1898-1900 William J. Stevens 1900-01 John D. Mangum 1901 James Russell 1902 Merwin E. Asire 1903-04 Walter T. Ward 1905 Rush Culver 1906 John Robertson 1907-08 Daniel Vaughan 1909-10 John H. Jacobs 1911-12 William Fassbender 1913 Fred H. Begole 1914-18 Harlow A. Clark 1919-23 John Robertson 1924-28 E. J. Hudson 1929-33 Arthur F. Jacques 1934-38 Louis W. Biegler 1939-43 James J. Beckman 1944-48 John J. O'Neil 1949-50 Bernard L. York 1951 Leonard W. Brumm 1952 Bernard L. York 1953 Leonard W. Brumm 1954 Harold W. Alholm 1955 Richard C. Hammerschmidt 1956 James W. Clark 1957 Richard R. Bur 1958 C. Fred Rydholm 1959 James R. Smith 1960 Elmer K. Carlson 1961 James R. Smith 1962 C. Fred Rydholm 1963 Joseph Fine 1964 Edward L. Downey, Jr. 1965 Robert E. Moore 1966 C. Fred Rydholm 1967 Edward L. Downey, Jr. 1968 Lloyd H. Price 1969 Patrick J. Lowney 1970 Paul J. LaFreniere 1971 William J. Malandrone 1972-74 Holly S. Greer 1975-76 Howard R. Swaine 1977 Warren R. Merrick 1978 Glenda Robinson 1979 Robert M. Ling 1980-81 Daniel S. Mazzuchi 1982 Robert S. Stow, Sr. 1983 Robert Kulisheck 1984 J. Michael Coyne 1985 Robert O. Berube II 1986 J. Michael Coyne 1987 Robert O. Berube II 1988 J. Michael Coyne 1989 William G. Birch 1990 Frank P. Sciotto 1991 Charles E. Coffey 1992 J. Scott Pinkard 1993 John S. Leadbetter 1994 J. Scott Pinkard 1995 John S. Leadbetter as of 2002

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1900 Apr 2: Joseph F. Neidhart (People's), elected; John D. Mangum (Citizens), defeated.
  • 1906 Apr 2: Rush Culver (Dem), elected.
  • 1909 Apr 5: Daniel Vaughan (Citizens), elected.
  • 1948 Oct 12: John J. O'Neil, elected; James J. Beckman, defeated.

    Postmasters at Marquette, 1850-1976 (may be incomplete!)
    Amos R. Harlow 1850-52 Peter White 1856 Matthew H. Maynard 1856-57 Royal L. F. Whittlesey 1857-61 Alexander G. Ross 1861-64 Terrence Moore 1864-74 Samuel M. Billings 1874-85 James Russell 1885-89 Samuel M. Billings 1889-93 Leroy W. Midlam 1893-97 Orrin G. Younguist 1897-1902 John D. Mangum 1902-14 Francis S. Byrne 1914-15 Michael C. Scully 1915-21 Louis W. Biegler 1921 Louis W. Biegler 1921-34 John S. Courtney 1934-35 John S. Courtney 1935-65 Edward L. Downey, Jr. 1965-68 Edward L. Downey, Jr. 1968-76

    Carp River
    (now Marquette)

    Postmasters at Carp River, 1847-56 (may be incomplete!)
    William B. McNair 1847-48 Philo M. Everett 1848-51 Peter White 1851-56

    (now Marquette)

    Postmasters at Worcester, 1849-50 (may be incomplete!)
    Amos R. Harlow 1849-50

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/MI/ofc/marquette.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]