The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Kentwood, Michigan
including Paris Township
Mayors, Township Supervisors

Mayors of Kentwood, 1967-2007 (may be incomplete!)
Peter M. Lamberts 1967-79 Marvin D. Hoeflinger 1979-81 Gerald DeRuiter 1981-92 Bill Hardiman III 1992-2002 Richard L. Root 2002-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1981: Gerald DeRuiter, elected.
  • 1992: Gerald DeRuiter, resigned; Bill Hardiman III, appointed.
  • 2001 Nov 6: Bill Hardiman III, elected unopposed.
  • 2005 Nov 8: Richard L. Root, elected unopposed.

    Paris Township
    (incorporated as city of Kentwood 1967)

    Supervisors of Paris Township, 1861-1967 (may be incomplete!)
    Timothy S. Smith 1861-63 Samuel M. Garfield 1863-66 Timothy S. Smith 1866-67 Isaac D. Davis 1867-68 Horace Henshaw 1868-69 John P. Wykes 1869-70 Samuel M. Garfield 1870-73 Wright C. Allen 1873-74 Samuel Langdon 1874-76 Christian P. Friend 1876-78 Samuel Langdon 1878-79 Jerome E. Phillips 1879-80 Christian P. Friend 1880-83 Jerome E. Phillips 1883-85 Hugo B. Rathbun 1885-86 Everett Hurd 1886-88 Jerome E. Phillips 1888-89 Fremont E. Skeels 1889-91 Wright C. Allen 1891 Connor H. Smith 1891-93 William T. Adams 1894-96 Lyman McCrath 1896-98 Wilmarth Shafer 1898-1906 Robert B. Patterson 1907-13 Henry Simerink 1914-27 Charles R. Feenstra 1928-36 William Wiersma 1937-43 Jake Van Houten 1943-53 John Oosterhouse 1954 Floyd Stevens 1955-59 Fred S. Darling 1960-61 Sydney VanderGalien 1961 Robert VanderLaan 1961-63 Peter M. Lamberts 1963-67

    Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1921 Apr 4: Henry Simerink, elected.
  • 1936 Apr 6: Charles R. Feenstra, elected.
  • 1942 Apr 6: William Wiersma (Rep), elected unopposed.
  • 1943 Oct 1: William Wiersma, resigned; Jake Van Houten, appointed.
  • 1961: Sydney VanderGalien, appointed.
  • 1961 Mar 1: Fred S. Darling, resigned.
  • 1961 Apr 3: Sydney VanderGalien, elected.
  • 1963 Oct 15: Robert VanderLaan, resigned; Peter M. Lamberts, appointed.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/MI/ofc/kentwood.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]