The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Kalamazoo, Michigan

Mayors of Kalamazoo, 1884-2007 (may be incomplete!)
Allen Potter 1884 Edwin W. DeYoe 1885 Peyton Ranney 1886-87 Otto Ihling 1887-89 William E. Hill 1890 Frederick Bush 1891-92 William E. Hill 1892-93 James W. Osborn 1893-95 Otto Ihling 1895-96 James Monroe 1896-97 Allan M. Stearns 1897-99 William G. Howard 1899-1900 Alfred J. Mills 1900-01 Edmond S. Rankin 1902 Samuel Folz 1903 James W. Osborn 1904 Walter R. Taylor 1905 William Thompson 1906-07 Frank H. Milham 1908-09 Charles H. Farrell 1910-11 Charles B. Hays 1912 Alfred B. Connable 1913-15 James B. Balch 1915-18 William E. Upjohn 1918 Albert J. Todd 1919-20 Cornelius Verberg 1921-23 Alfred Curtenius 1923 George K. Taylor 1923-27 Ernest A. Balch 1927-28 Edward M. Kennedy 1928-29 S. Rudolph Light 1929-31 Lewis C. Wright 1931-33 William Shakespeare, Jr. 1933-35 Paul H. Todd 1935-37 Arthur L. Blakesle 1937-39 Frank E. McAllister 1939-41 Lou W. Collins 1941-43 Louis W. Sutherland 1943-45 Henry Ford, Jr. 1945-49 Paul H. Todd 1949-51 Glenn S. Allen, Jr. 1951-59 James S. Gilmore, Jr. 1959-61 Paul E. Morrison 1961-63 Raymond L. Hightower 1963-67 Paul J. Schrier 1967-69 Francis P. Hamilton 1969-71 Gilbert H. Bradley, Jr. 1971-73 Francis P. Hamilton 1973-79 Edward J. Annen, Jr. 1979-81 Caroline R. Ham 1981-83 Francis P. Hamilton 1983-85 Edward J. Annen, Jr. 1985-91 Beverly A. Moore 1991-93 Edward J. Annen, Jr. 1993-95 Barbara A. Larson 1995-97 Robert B. Jones 1997-2005 Hannah McKinney 2005-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1889 Apr 1: Otto Ihling (Rep), elected.
  • 1890 Apr 7: William E. Hill (Rep), elected.
  • 1892: Frederick Bush, died in office; William E. Hill, appointed.
  • 1892 Apr 4: William E. Hill (Rep), elected.
  • 1895 Apr 1: Otto Ihling (Rep), elected; Allan M. Stearns (Dem), defeated.
  • 1896 Apr 6: James Monroe (Rep), elected; Nathaniel H. Stewart (Dem), defeated; Truesdale (Prohibition), defeated.
  • 1897 Apr 5: Allan M. Stearns (Dem), elected; Otto Ihling (Rep), defeated.
  • 1898 Apr 4: Allan M. Stearns (Dem), elected; O. A LaCrone (Rep), defeated.
  • 1899 Apr 3: William G. Howard (Dem), elected; Rush McNair (Rep), defeated.
  • 1900 Apr 2: Alfred J. Mills (Rep), elected; Albert M. Todd (Dem), defeated.
  • 1901 Apr 1: Alfred J. Mills (Rep), elected; Nathaniel H. Stewart (Dem), defeated; E. R. Weldin (Social Democratic), defeated; Morlan Van Hoesen (Citizens), defeated.
  • 1902 Apr 7: Edmond S. Rankin (Rep), elected; Nathaniel H. Stewart (Dem), defeated; Branch, defeated; McCall, defeated.
  • 1903 Apr 6: Samuel Folz, elected.
  • 1904 Apr 4: James W. Osborn (Rep), elected.
  • 1906 Apr 2: William Thompson (Dem), elected.
  • 1907 Apr 1: William Thompson (Dem), elected; James E. White (Rep), defeated.
  • 1908 Apr 6: Frank H. Milham (Dem), elected.
  • 1910 Apr 4: Charles H. Farrell (Rep), elected.
  • 1912 Apr 1: Charles B. Hays (Dem), elected.
  • 1913 Apr 7: Alfred B. Connable (Rep), elected; Richard R. Brenner (Dem), defeated; Kidwell (Socialist), defeated; J. W. Bosman (Progressive), defeated; Brooks (Prohibition), defeated.
  • 1915 Apr 5: James B. Balch, elected.
  • 1916 Apr 3: James B. Balch (Dem), elected.
  • 1923 Oct 23: Cornelius Verberg, died in office.

    Postmasters at Kalamazoo, 1836-1969 (may be incomplete!)
    Isaac W. Willard 1836-41 Anthony Cooley 1841 Edwin N. Colt 1841-42 Francis Marsh, Jr. 1842-44 Alexis Ransom 1844-49 Anthony Cooley 1849 David S. Walbridge 1849-53 William H. DeYoe 1853-57 Nathaniel A. Balch 1857-61 James A. Walter 1861-66 Foster Pratt 1866-67 James A. Walter 1867-70 James A. B. Stone 1870-74 Lucius B. Kendall 1874-81 Lyman M. Gates 1881-85 Andrew J. Shakespeare 1885-90 James Monroe 1890-94 Frank W. Cornell 1894-98 James Monroe 1898-99 Huston B. Colman 1899-1916 Frank B. Orcutt 1916 Samuel Folz 1916 Samuel Folz 1916-24 Fred C. Putnam 1924 Fred C. Putnam 1924-36 Harry A. Newcomb 1936-49 Walter Schanz 1949-51 Walter Schanz 1951-54 John W. VanEck 1954-61 Robert L. Cooper 1961-63 Robert L. Cooper 1963-69

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/MI/ofc/kalamazoo.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]