The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Jackson, Michigan
Mayors, Village Presidents, Postmasters

Mayors of Jackson, 1857-2002 (may be incomplete!)
James C. Woods 1857-58 Peter B. Loomis 1858-59 William Jackson 1859-60 Amos Root 1860-61 Amasa B. Gibson 1861-64 Delos Fisher 1864-65 Daniel B. Hibbard 1865-66 Moses A. McNaughton 1866-67 Warren N. Buck 1867-69 William M. Bennett 1869-71 Jasper H. Noyes 1871-72 Benjamin G. Mosher 1872-74 Henry A. Hayden 1874-76 James O'Donnell 1876-78 Cyrus W. Higby 1878-79 Joseph Mabley 1879-81 Dan V. Bunnell 1881-82 Winfield C. Heyser 1882-83 Joseph Mabley 1883-85 Eugene Pringle 1885-86 Clarence H. Bennett 1886-87 Henry Hayden 1887-88 Martin G. Loennecker 1889-90 Edwy Knight 1890-91 Martin G. Loennecker 1891-92 Andrew J. Weatherwax 1892-93 Thaddeus C. Brooks 1893-95 Andrew J. Weatherwax 1895-96 Josiah C. Richardson 1896-97 Martin G. Loennecker 1897-1900 William M. Palmer 1900 Frank Palmer 1901-02 Samuel Pickles 1902-04 William W. Todd 1904-07 Benjamin J. Glasgow 1907-09 Daniel C. Sauer 1909-13 Charles H. Bailey 1913-14 William Sparks 1915-19 Frank T. Bennett 1920-21 William M. Palmer 1922-25 Clark W. Brown 1926-27 Manly W. Hoffman 1928-29 Charles H. Patterson 1929 Milo R. Hulliberger 1930-31 Maurice Heuman 1932-34 William W. Wright 1934-35 Russell H. Bengel 1936-39 Daniel J. Hackett 1940-45 Edward F. Behan 1946-47 James M. Kearney 1947 James N. House 1948-55 Harold D. Miller 1956-59 Harold E. Nichols 1960 Bernie L. Magiera 1960-65 Mary A. Bennett 1966-67 Maurice B. Townsend 1968-71 Philip H. Conley 1972-75 Fred C. Janke 1976-79 O. B. Falls 1979-81 Albert W. Stern 1981-85 Richard L. Strunk 1985-87 Betty J. Granger 1987- Martin J. Griffin as of 2002

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1857: James C. Woods (Dem), elected; Charles W. Penny (Rep), defeated.
  • 1858: Peter B. Loomis (Rep), elected; James C. Woods (Dem), defeated.
  • 1859: William Jackson (Rep), elected; Fidus Livermore (Dem), defeated.
  • 1860: Amos Root (Rep), elected; Henry A. Hayden (Dem), defeated.
  • 1861: Amasa B. Gibson (Dem), elected; Dan Upton (Rep), defeated.
  • 1862: Amasa B. Gibson (Dem), elected; James E. Dyer (Rep), defeated.
  • 1863: Amasa B. Gibson (Dem), elected; Moses A. McNaughton (Rep), defeated.
  • 1864: Delos Fisher (Rep), elected; Henry A. Hayden (Dem), defeated.
  • 1865: Daniel B. Hibbard (Dem), elected; William Jackson (Rep), defeated.
  • 1866: Moses A. McNaughton (Rep), elected; Amasa B. Gibson (Dem), defeated.
  • 1867: Warren N. Buck (Dem), elected; E. A. Webster (Rep), defeated.
  • 1868: Warren N. Buck (Dem), elected; George H. Lathrop (Rep), defeated.
  • 1869: William M. Bennett (Dem), elected; George H. Lathrop (Rep), defeated.
  • 1870: William M. Bennett (Dem), elected; Moses A. McNaughton (Rep), defeated.
  • 1871: Jasper H. Noyes (Dem), elected; William L. Seaton (Rep), defeated.
  • 1872: Benjamin G. Mosher (Dem), elected; B. F. Eggleston (Rep), defeated.
  • 1873: Benjamin G. Mosher (Dem), elected; James O'Donnell (Rep), defeated.
  • 1877: James O'Donnell (Rep), elected; Douglas Gibson (Dem), defeated.
  • 1878: Cyrus W. Higby (Dem), elected; James O'Donnell (Rep), defeated.
  • 1880 Apr 5: Joseph Mabley (Dem), elected; N. C. Lowe (Rep), defeated; Milar McLaughlin (Greenback), defeated.
  • 1889 Apr 1: Martin G. Loennecker (Dem), elected.
  • 1900 Apr 2: William M. Palmer (Rep), elected; T. J. Bierney (Dem), defeated.
  • 1902 Apr 7: Samuel Pickles (Rep), elected; Henry H. Neesley (Dem), defeated.
  • 1903 Apr 6: Samuel Pickles (Rep), elected.
  • 1904 Apr 4: William W. Todd (Dem), elected.
  • 1907 Apr 1: Benjamin J. Glasgow (Rep), elected; William W. Todd (Dem), defeated.
  • 1909 Apr 5: Daniel C. Sauer (Dem), elected.
  • 1935 Nov 5: Russell H. Bengel, elected.

    Village Presidents of Jackson, 1843-57 (may be incomplete!)
    Abram V. Berry 1843-46 Jerome B. Eaton 1846-47 John Sumner 1847-48 Alva Gould 1848-49 Orson W. Bennett 1849-50 John Sumner 1850-52 G. Thompson Gridley 1852-54 John W. Hulen 1854-55 Fairchild Farrand 1855-56 Samuel Higby 1856-57

    Postmasters at Jackson, 1838-1971 (may be incomplete!)
    George B. Cooper 1838-46 Wilbur F. Storey 1846-49 James A. Dyer 1849-53 Reuben S. Cheney 1853-59 Joseph P. Shoemaker 1859-61 Amos Root 1861-66 Frank W. Anthony 1866-67 William L. Seaton 1867-85 William W. Van Antwerp 1885-88 William M. Bennett 1888-89 William L. Seaton 1889-93 Edward C. Morrissey 1893-98 Henry E. Edwards 1898-1902 Oscar J. R. Hanna 1902-06 Josiah C. Richardson 1906-14 John E. Shekell 1914-22 Fred J. Beaman 1922-35 Joseph A. Picard 1935-36 Joseph A. Picard 1936-62 Tracy W. Vaughn 1962-64 Tracy W. Vaughn 1964-71

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/MI/ofc/jackson.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]