The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Ionia, Michigan

Mayors of Ionia, 1873-1967 (may be incomplete!)
Frederick Hall 1873 George W. Webber 1874-75 James M. Kidd 1876-78 E. H. Stanton 1879-80 James M. Kidd 1881 Allen B. Morse 1882 A. J. Webber 1883 George S. Cooper 1884 Colley B. Wisner 1885 John Doyle 1886 Thomas F. McGarry 1887 Humphrey R. Wagar 1888 Michael L. Steele 1889 Adolphus A. Ellis 1890-91 F. M. Davis 1892 George Gundrum 1893 John B. Chaddock 1894 Gregg Williams 1895-96 Adolphus A. Ellis 1897-1900 James Scully 1900-01 John F. Bible 1902-03 F. C. Miller 1904 E. F. Gallagher 1905 Robert Baird 1906 John F. Bible 1907 George Winchell 1908 R. A. Redemsky 1909 Harvey E. Kidder 1910-11 Fred F. Workman 1912 Fred W. Green 1913-25 Fred A. Chapman 1927-31 Allen E. Stebbins 1931-32 Hiram H. Darling 1933 Nelson J. Spaulding 1933-35 C. Anthony Balice 1949-56 Foster I. Huber as of 1967

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1880 Apr 5: E. H. Stanton (Citizens), elected; A. F. Bell (Dem & Greenback), defeated.
  • 1900 Apr 2: James Scully (Dem), elected.
  • 1906 Apr 2: Robert Baird, elected.
  • 1908 Apr 6: George Winchell (Rep), elected.
  • 1909 Apr 5: R. A. Redemsky (Dem), elected.
  • 1910 Apr 4: Harvey E. Kidder (Dem), elected unopposed.
  • 1911 Apr 3: Harvey E. Kidder (Dem), elected; E. E. Branch (Rep), defeated.
  • 1912 Apr 1: Fred F. Workman (Rep), elected.
  • 1913 Apr 7: Fred W. Green (Rep), elected.
  • 1914 Apr 6: Fred W. Green (Rep), elected.
  • 1915 Apr 5: Fred W. Green (Rep), elected.
  • 1922 Apr 3: Fred W. Green (Rep), elected unopposed.
  • 1923 Apr 2: Fred W. Green, elected.
  • 1925 Apr 6: Fred W. Green, elected.
  • 1931 Apr 6: Allen E. Stebbins (Dem), elected; Fred A. Chapman (Rep), defeated.
  • 1932 Apr 4: Allen E. Stebbins, elected.
  • 1933 Apr 3: Nelson J. Spaulding (Dem), elected; Hiram H. Darling (Rep), defeated.
  • 1935 Apr 1: Foss O. Eldred (Rep), elected; Nelson J. Spaulding (Dem), defeated.
  • 1941 Apr 7: Clarence S. Johnson (Rep), elected; Frank Gaheela (Dem), defeated.
  • 1949 Apr 4: C. Anthony Balice (Dem), elected; Donald Ackerman (Rep), defeated.

    Postmasters at Ionia, 1871-1922 (may be incomplete!)
    Lewis D. Smith as of 1871 A. H. Heath as of 1881-83 A. E. Tower as of 1887 James H. Kidd as of 1891 Kimbal R. Smith as of 1901 Henry J. Horrigan as of 1911 Harvey E. Kidder as of 1914-22

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/MI/ofc/ionia.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]