The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Highland Park, Michigan
Mayors, Village Presidents, Postmasters

Mayors of Highland Park, 1916-2005 (may be incomplete!)
Frank E. Hager 1916-18 Royal Milton Ford 1918-19 Clarence E. Gittins 1924-28 John C. Shields 1928-30 N. Ray Markland 1932-34 Joseph M. Hackett 1934-37 Norman J. Patterson 1950-51 John R. Smith 1951-53 Philip E. Cowan as of 1954-55 Paul V. Winkler as of 1956 Mark E. Storen 1960-65 Michael M. Glusac as of 1967 Jesse P. Miller as of 1978 Linsey Porter as of 2002 Titus McClary as of 2004-05

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1918 Apr 1: Royal Milton Ford, elected; Frank E. Hager, defeated.
  • 1922 Apr 3: Edgar F. Down, elected.
  • 1924 Apr 7: Clarence E. Gittins, elected; I. Paul Taylor, defeated.
  • 1928 Apr 2: John C. Shields, elected; Clarence E. Gittins, defeated.
  • 1930 Apr 7: John C. Shields, elected; I. Paul Taylor, defeated.
  • 1932 Apr 4: N. Ray Markland, elected; James I. Ellman, defeated.
  • 1934 Apr 2: Joseph M. Hackett, elected; N. Ray Markland, defeated.
  • 1936 Apr 6: Joseph M. Hackett, elected.
  • 1938 Apr 4: Blaine T. Colman, elected.
  • 1940 Apr 1: Blaine T. Colman, elected; Chester M. Martin, defeated.
  • 1951 Feb 19: John R. Smith, nominated; Richard Nahabedian, nominated; Walter J. Klees, defeated in primary; Paul V. Winkler, defeated in primary; Harold Truax, defeated in primary.
  • 1951 Apr 2: John R. Smith, elected; Richard Nahabedian, defeated.
  • 1959: Mark E. Storen, elected.
  • 1965 Feb 25: Mark E. Storen, died in office.
  • 2003 Nov 4: Titus McClary, elected; Eric Lamont Hollowell, defeated.

    Village Presidents of Highland Park, 1889-1903 (may be incomplete!)
    Jonathan P. Price 1889

    Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1903 Mar 9: Frank Holznagle (Citizens Improvement), elected; W. W. McAlpine (Ind), defeated.

    Postmasters at Highland Park, 1891-1901 (may be incomplete!)
    John C. Hickey as of 1891 James R. Hutton as of 1901

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/MI/ofc/highlandpark.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]