The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Hamtramck, Michigan
including Hamtramck Township
Mayors, Village Presidents, Postmasters, Township Supervisors

Mayors of Hamtramck, 1922-2006 (may be incomplete!)
Peter C. Jezewski 1922-26 Stephen A. Majewski 1926-28 Rudolph G. Tenerowicz 1928-32 Peter C. Jezewski 1932-34 Joseph A. Lewandowski 1934-36 Rudolph G. Tenerowicz 1936-39 Vincent S. Sadlowski 1939 Walter L. Kanar 1939-42 Anthony C. Tenerowicz 1942 Stephen S. Skrzycki 1942-52 Albert J. Zak 1952-63 Joseph J. Grzecki 1963-70 Raymond J. Wojtowicz 1970-73 Albert J. Zak 1974-75 William V. Kozerski 1975-79 Robert Kozaren 1980-97 Gary J. Zych 1998-2003 Thomas Jankowski as of 2004-05 Karen Majewski as of 2006

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1922 Apr 3: Peter C. Jezewski, elected; Fred B. Dibble, defeated.
  • 1924 Apr 7: Peter C. Jezewski, elected; Fred B. Dibble, defeated.
  • 1926 Mar 3: Stephen A. Majewski, nominated; Peter C. Jezewski, nominated; Joseph J. Skomski, defeated in primary; Herman Richter, defeated in primary.
  • 1926 Apr 5: Stephen A. Majewski, elected; Peter C. Jezewski, defeated.
  • 1928 Mar 7: Rudolph G. Tenerowicz, nominated; Stephen A. Majewski, nominated; Peter Wojsik, defeated in primary; Joseph John Bodziak, defeated in primary.
  • 1928 Apr 2: Rudolph G. Tenerowicz, elected; Stephen A. Majewski, defeated.
  • 1930 Mar 5: Rudolph G. Tenerowicz, nominated; Theophilus T. Dysarz, nominated; George Kristalsky, defeated in primary; Harry Stanczak, defeated in primary.
  • 1930 Apr 7: Rudolph G. Tenerowicz, elected; Theophilus T. Dysarz, defeated.
  • 1932 Mar 2: Constantine A. Cetlinski, nominated; Peter C. Jezewski, nominated; Rudolph G. Tenerowicz, defeated in primary; Stanley J. Pacholek, defeated in primary; George Kristalsky, defeated in primary.
  • 1932 Mar 24: Rudolph G. Tenerowicz, resigned.
  • 1932 Apr 4: Peter C. Jezewski, elected; Constantine A. Cetlinski, defeated; Stanley J. Pacholek, defeated; George Kristalsky, defeated.
  • 1934 Mar 7: Joseph A. Lewandowski, nominated; Peter C. Jezewski, nominated; Rudolph G. Tenerowicz, defeated in primary; George Kristalsky, defeated in primary.
  • 1934 Apr 2: Joseph A. Lewandowski, elected; Peter C. Jezewski, defeated.
  • 1936 Apr 6: Rudolph G. Tenerowicz, elected; Joseph A. Lewandowski, defeated.
  • 1938 Apr 4: Rudolph G. Tenerowicz, elected; Joseph A. Lewandowski, defeated.
  • 1940 Apr 1: Walter L. Kanar, elected; Frank Matulewicz, defeated.
  • 1975 Feb 25: Albert J. Zak, died in office.
  • 2003 Nov 4: Thomas Jankowski, elected; Gary J. Zych, defeated.
  • 2005 Aug 2: Karen Majewski, nominated; Thomas Jankowski, nominated; Mohammad A. Hafeez, defeated in primary; Richard Fabiszak, defeated in primary.
  • 2005 Nov 8: Karen Majewski, elected; Thomas Jankowski, defeated.

    Village Presidents of Hamtramck, 1903-19 (may be incomplete!)
    Daniel L. Minock 1918-19

    Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1903 Mar 9: Edward Russell (People's Conservative), elected; William Blanck (Citizens), defeated.
  • 1917: George J. Haas (Liberty), defeated.
  • 1919 Mar 10: George J. Haas (Liberty), elected; Daniel L. Minock (People's Conservative), defeated.

    Postmasters at Hamtramck, 1911 (may be incomplete!)
    Xerxes A. Jones as of 1911

    Hamtramck Township
    (incorporated as city of Hamtramck 1922)

    Supervisors of Hamtramck Township, 1827-1901 (may be incomplete!)
    C. Moran 1827-33 Peter Van Every 1833-37 Louis Beaufait 1837-41 John Kirby 1841 Louis Beaufait 1842 Anthony Damito 1843 W. B. Hunt 1844 George Moran 1845

    Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1901 Apr 1: Bernard Monaghan, elected; Emil Kuhn, defeated.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/MI/ofc/hamtramck.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]