The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Flint, Michigan

Mayors of Flint, 1855-2005 (may be incomplete!)
Grant Decker 1855-56 Robert J. S. Page 1856-57 Henry M. Henderson 1857-58 William M. Fenton 1858-59 Porter Hazelton 1859-60 Henry H. Crapo 1860-61 Ephraim S. Williams 1861-62 William Paterson 1862-63 William Hamilton 1863-65 William B. McCreery 1865-67 Austin B. Witherbee 1867-68 William S. Patrick 1869-70 James B. Walker 1870-71 David S. Fox 1871-73 George H. Durand 1873-75 Alexander McFarlan 1875-76 William Hamilton 1876-77 Edward H. Thompson 1877-78 Jerome Eddy 1878-79 James C. Willson 1879-80 Zacheus Chase 1880-81 Charles A. Mason 1881-82 William A. Atwood 1882-83 George E. Newall 1883-84 William W. Joyner 1884-85 Mathew Davison 1885-86 George T. Warren 1886-87 John C. Dayton 1887-88 Oren Stone 1888-89 Frank D. Baker 1889-90 William A. Paterson 1890-91 Francis H. Rankin, Jr. 1891-92 George E. Taylor 1892-93 Andrew J. Ward 1893-94 Arthur C. McCall 1894-95 John C. Zimmerman, Sr. 1895-96 Samuel C. Randall 1896-97 Milton C. Pettibone 1897-98 George R. Gold 1898-99 H. Alexander Crawford 1899-1900 Charles A. Comings 1900-01 Clark B. Dibble 1901-02 Austin D. Alvord 1902-04 Bruce J. McDonald 1904-05 David D. Aitken 1905-06 George E. McKinley 1906-08 Horace C. Spencer 1908-09 Guy W. Selby 1909-11 John A. C. Menton 1911-12 Charles S. Mott 1912-14 John R. MacDonald 1914-15 William H. McKeighan 1915-16 Earl F. Johnson 1916-17 George C. Kellar 1917-18 Charles S. Mott 1918-19 George C. Kellar 1919-20 Edwin W. Atwood 1920-22 William H. McKeighan 1922-23 David R. Cuthbertson 1923-24 Judson L. Transue 1924-27 William H. McKeighan 1927-28 Ray A. Brownell 1929-30 Harvey J. Mallery 1930-31 William H. McKeighan 1931-33 Ray A. Brownell 1933-34 Howard J. Clifford 1934-35 George E. Boysen 1935-36 Harold E. Bradshaw 1936-38 Harry M. Comins 1938-40 Oliver Tappin 1940 William O. Kelly 1940-44 Edwin C. McLogan 1944-46 Edward J. Viall 1946-48 George G. Wills 1948-50 Paul Lovegrove 1950-52 Donald W. Riegle 1952-54 George M. Algoe 1954-58 Robert J. Egan 1958-60 Charles A. Mobley 1960-62 George R. Poulos 1962-64 Harry K. Cull 1964-66 Floyd J. McCree 1966-68 Donald R. Cronin 1968-70 Francis E. Limmer 1970-73 Paul C. Visser 1973-75 James W. Rutherford 1975-83 James A. Sharp, Jr. 1983-87 Matthew S. Collier 1987-91 Woodrow Stanley 1991- Don Williamson as of 2005

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1880 Apr 5: Zacheus Chase (Rep), elected.
  • 1900 Apr 2: Charles A. Comings (Dem), elected.
  • 1902 Apr 7: Austin D. Alvord (Dem), elected.
  • 1904 Apr 4: Bruce J. McDonald (Rep), elected.
  • 1908 Apr 6: Horace C. Spencer (Rep), elected; George E. McKinley (Dem), defeated.
  • 1909 Apr 5: Guy W. Selby (Rep), elected.
  • 1910 Apr 4: Guy W. Selby (Rep), elected; Austin D. Alvord (Dem), defeated.
  • 1911 Apr 3: John A. C. Menton (Socialist), elected; Edwin W. Atwood (Rep), defeated; William Wildanger (Dem), defeated.
  • 1912 Apr 1: Charles S. Mott (Ind), elected; John A. C. Menton (Socialist), defeated.
  • 1914 Apr 6: Charles S. Mott, defeated; John R. MacDonald (Progressive), elected.
  • 1921 Apr 4: Edwin W. Atwood, elected unopposed.
  • 1922 Apr 3: William H. McKeighan (Rep), elected; Marvin C. Barney (Citizens), defeated.
  • 1923 Apr 2: David R. Cuthbertson (Dem), elected; William H. McKeighan (Rep), defeated.
  • 1991 Aug 6: Dan Kildee, defeated in primary.

    Postmasters at Flint, 1871-1993 (may be incomplete!)
    William Tracy as of 1871-73 Francis H. Rankin as of 1881-83 William W. Joyner as of 1887 George E. Newall as of 1891 James A. Button as of 1901-03 Fred P. Baker as of 1911 William O. Kelly 1949-51 William O. Kelly 1951-56 Virgil F. Worthington 1956 Charles H. Pratt 1956-61 William H. Schwartz 1961-63 William H. Schwartz 1963-93

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/MI/ofc/flint.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]