The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Farmington Hills, Michigan
including Farmington, Farmington Township, North Farmington
Mayors, Postmasters, Township Supervisors

Mayors of Farmington Hills, 1973-2013 (may be incomplete!)
Robert A. McConnell 1973-74 Frederick Lichtman 1974-75 Earl C. Opperthauser 1975-76 D. Keith Deacon 1976-77 Joan D. Dudley 1977 Jan C. Dolan 1978 Earl C. Opperthauser 1979 JoAnn Soronen 1980 Donn L. Wolf 1981 Jack G. Burwell 1982 Frederick W. Hughes 1983 Charles H. Williams 1984 Jan C. Dolan 1985 Joe Alkateeb 1986 Ben Marks 1987 JoAnn Soronen 1988 Terry Sever 1989 Jean M. Fox 1990 Aldo Vagnozzi 1991 Jon Grant 1992 Nancy L. Bates 1993 Lawrence A. Lichtman 1994 Joanne E. Smith 1995 Aldo Vagnozzi 1995-99 Nancy L. Bates 1999- Vicki Barnett as of 2005

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1995 Nov 7: Aldo Vagnozzi, elected; Paul R. Sowerby, defeated.
  • 1997 Nov 4: Aldo Vagnozzi, elected unopposed.
  • 1999 Nov 2: Nancy L. Bates, elected; George Sarkisian, defeated.
  • 2001 Nov 6: Nancy L. Bates, elected; Ronald Oliverio, defeated.
  • 2011 Nov 8: Barry L. Brickner, elected unopposed.
  • 2013 Nov 5: Barry L. Brickner, elected unopposed.

    (was part of Farmington Township)

    Mayors of Farmington, 1933-36 (may be incomplete!)
    Howard M. Warner as of 1933-36

    Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1933 Apr 3: Howard M. Warner, elected; Arthur Lamb, defeated.
  • 1935 Apr 1: Howard M. Warner, elected.

    Postmasters at Farmington, 1871-1911 (may be incomplete!)
    John W. Collins as of 1871-83 E. Woodman as of 1887 M. Byron Pierce as of 1891 M. Byron Pierce as of 1901-11

    Farmington Township
    (incorporated as city of Farmington Hills 1973)

    Supervisors of Farmington Township, 1904-55 (may be incomplete!)
    Arthur Coe as of 1933 Ernest V. Blanchard as of 1940-55

    Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1904 Apr 4: John Power (Rep), elected; Carl F. Hatten (Dem), defeated.
  • 1905 Apr 3: John Thayer (Rep), elected; B. F. Grace (Dem), defeated.

    North Farmington
    (now Farmington Hills)

    Postmasters at North Farmington, 1871-1901 (may be incomplete!)
    John H. Button as of 1871 O. G. Armstrong as of 1887-1901

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/MI/ofc/farmingtonhills.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]