The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Coldwater, Michigan
Mayors, Village Presidents, Postmasters

Mayors of Coldwater, 1861-2005 (may be incomplete!)
Albert Chandler 1861-63 David B. Dennis 1863-64 Justin Lawyer 1864-66 John H. Beach 1866-67 D. C. Powers 1867-69 Phineas P. Nicholas 1869-70 Justin Lawyer 1870-71 David B. Dennis 1871-72 Albert Chandler 1872-73 Henry C. Lewis 1873-74 John R. Champion 1874-76 Stephen S. Cutter 1876-77 Charles Upson 1877-78 D. C. Powers 1879-80 John R. Champion 1880-81 Barton S. Tibbits 1881-82 L. M. Wing 1882-83 George Starr 1883-85 Alfred Milnes 1885-87 B. H. Calkins 1887-89 Caleb D. Randall 1889-90 Edwin R. Clarke 1890-92 B. H. Calkins 1892-93 Simon B. Kitchel 1893-94 N. A. Reynolds 1894-95 T. A. Hilton 1895-96 Albert A. Sherman 1896-98 Clayton C. Johnson 1898-1901 Elmer E. Palmer 1901-02 Milo D. Campbell 1902-05 Charles N. Legg 1905-06 G. E. Kleindinst 1906-08 Edward A. Moore 1908-09 Albert A. Sherman 1909-11 C. A. Conover 1911-13 Elmer E. Palmer 1913-14 G. E. Kleindinst 1914-16 Frank G. Sharp 1916-17 William H. Friedrich 1917-18 Frank G. Sharp 1918-19 Starr W. Gruner 1919-21 Edward D. Legg 1921-24 LeRoy Palmer 1924-26 Arthur B. Walker 1926-28 Howard K. Snyder 1928-30 Norman G. Kohl 1930-32 Samuel D. Strong 1932-33 Roscoe L. Graves 1933-35 Leslie Woodward 1935-37 Ford Davis 1937-39 Alfred G. Morency 1939-42 Roy O. Baum 1942-44 Howard M. Teeter 1946-48 Owen L. Decker as of 1949-51 Frederick H. Weeks as of 1952-53 John T. Jackson as of 1954-56 Marion L. Pillsbury 1966-70 Dick Zeluff as of 1981 Eugene F. Wallace as of 2005

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1866 Apr 2: John H. Beach (Dem), elected.
  • 1880 Apr 5: John R. Champion (Citizens), elected.
  • 1889 Apr 1: Caleb D. Randall (Rep), elected.
  • 1900 Apr 2: Clayton C. Johnson (Rep), elected.
  • 1908 Apr 6: Edward A. Moore (Rep), elected.
  • 1909 Apr 5: Albert A. Sherman (Dem), elected.
  • 1910 Apr 4: Albert A. Sherman (Dem), elected.
  • 1912 Apr 1: C. A. Conover (Rep), elected.
  • 1914 Apr 6: G. E. Kleindinst (Rep), elected.
  • 1915 Apr 5: G. E. Kleindinst, elected.
  • 1925 Apr 6: LeRoy Palmer (Dem), elected.
  • 1932 Apr 4: Samuel D. Strong, elected.
  • 1933 Apr 3: Roscoe L. Graves (Rep), elected; W. Frank Murray (Dem), defeated.
  • 1935 Apr 1: Leslie Woodward (Rep), elected.
  • 1936 Apr 6: Leslie Woodward (Rep), elected.
  • 1938 Apr 4: Ford Davis (Rep), elected.

    Village Presidents of Coldwater, 1837-61 (may be incomplete!)
    Hiram Alden 1837-38 L. D. Crippen 1838-39 Silas A. Holbrook 1839-42 David Williams 1842-43 William Pierson 1843-44 Henry Lockwood 1844-46 Albert L. Porter 1846-47 Harvey Warner 1847-49 Jared Pond 1849-51 Harvey Warner 1851-52 Albert Chandler 1852-53 Hiram Shoudler 1853-54 Alvin H. Burdick 1854-55 Hiram Baker 1855-56 Roland Root 1856-57 A. S. Glessner 1857-58 Alonzo F. Bidwell 1858-59 Charles Upson 1859-60 Stephen S. Cutter 1860-61

    Postmasters at Coldwater, 1830-1969 (may be incomplete!)
    Abraham F. Bolton 1830-32 Harvey Warner 1832-35 Peter Martin 1835-37 Silas A. Holbrook 1837-38 Harvey Warner 1838-46 Theron Foster 1846-49 Myron A. Dougherty 1849-52 Lorenzo D. Brown 1852-53 Corydon P. Benton 1853-57 Albert L. Porter 1857-61 David B. Purinton 1861-66 Hamlet B. Adams 1866-69 John Chandler 1869-73 Julius S. Barber 1873-82 Edward R. Root 1882-86 David B. Dennis 1886-90 Albert A. Dorrance 1890-94 John G. Parkhurst 1894-98 Alfred Milnes 1898-1902 Benjamin B. Gorman 1902-14 LeRoy Palmer 1914-22 Benjamin B. Gorman 1922-29 Charles Henry Peterson 1929 James Swain 1929-33 Mortimer W. Olds 1933-34 Mortimer W. Olds 1934-48 Ralph K. Whipple 1948-50 Gust C. Burandt 1950-69

    Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1929 Jun 16: Benjamin B. Gorman, died in office.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/MI/ofc/coldwater.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]