The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Bedford Township, Monroe County, Michigan
including Lambertville
Township Supervisors, Postmasters

Supervisors of Bedford Township, Monroe County, 1842-2012 (may be incomplete!)
Farley McLouth 1842-44 Daniel Hungerford 1844-45 Farley McLouth 1845-48 Henry Mason 1848-50 Thomas F. Aldrich 1850-51 C. F. W. Rawson 1851-53 George Kirkland 1853-54 Henry Mason 1854-55 Caleb D. Sumner 1855-57 R. S. Janney 1857-58 Caleb D. Sumner 1858-61 William Jenney 1861-63 Henry Mason 1863-65 Caleb D. Sumner 1865-67 Lewis McLouth 1867-68 A. C. Lambert 1868-69 John J. Sumner 1869-73 Obed Smith 1873-74 Moses J. Howe 1874-75 Obed Smith 1875-80 John J. Sumner 1880-81 Obed Smith 1881-82 Joseph R. Rogers 1882-88 Obed Smith 1888-89 Arthur O. Kinney 1889-90 Henry T. Brunt 1897-1900 Austin B. Tuttle 1900-05 Ira B. Osborn 1911-16 Clarence E. Janney 1924-29 Walter Wilburn as of 2007-09

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1897 Apr 5: Henry T. Brunt, elected.
  • 1898 Apr 4: Henry T. Brunt, elected.
  • 1899 Apr 3: Henry T. Brunt, elected.
  • 1900 Apr 2: Austin B. Tuttle, elected.
  • 1901 Apr 1: Austin B. Tuttle, elected.
  • 1902 Apr 7: Austin B. Tuttle, elected.
  • 1903 Apr 6: Austin B. Tuttle, elected.
  • 1904 Apr 4: Austin B. Tuttle, elected.
  • 1905 Apr 3: Clarence A. Harrick, elected.
  • 1906 Apr 2: Hall L. DeLand, elected.
  • 1911 Apr 3: Ira B. Osborn, elected.
  • 1912 Apr 1: Ira B. Osborn, elected.
  • 1913 Apr 7: Ira B. Osborn, elected.
  • 1914 Apr 6: Ira B. Osborn, elected.
  • 1915 Apr 5: Ira B. Osborn, elected.
  • 1922 Apr 3: Lemuel Johnston, elected.
  • 1923 Apr 2: Hall L. DeLand, elected.
  • 1924 Apr 7: Clarence E. Janney, elected.
  • 1925 Apr 6: Clarence E. Janney, elected.
  • 1926 Apr 5: Clarence E. Janney, elected.
  • 1927 Apr 4: Clarence E. Janney, elected.
  • 1928 Apr 2: Clarence E. Janney, elected.
  • 1930 Apr 7: Clarence E. Janney, elected.
  • 1935 Apr 1: Gust Kuhmann (Rep), elected; Matt Bukowski (Dem), defeated.
  • 1936 Apr 6: Gust Kuhmann (Rep), elected unopposed.
  • 1940 Apr 1: Gust Kuhmann (Rep), elected; Hugh Van Ness (Dem), defeated.
  • 1949 Apr 4: John G. Fielding (Rep), elected unopposed.
  • 2012 Aug 7: Greg W. Stewart (Rep), nominated; Walter Wilburn (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • 2012 Nov 6: Greg W. Stewart (Rep), elected unopposed.

    (part of Bedford Township)

    Postmasters at Lambertville, 1871-1982 (may be incomplete!)
    John J. Sumner as of 1871-83 W. Opdyke as of 1887 Ezra A. Armstrong as of 1891 Henry L. Van Orman as of 1901-11 Elizabeth D. Malanson 1954-57 Denver D. Young 1957-82

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/MI/ofc/bedford-twp-monroe.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]