The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Battle Creek, Michigan
including Battle Creek Township
Mayors, Village Presidents, Postmasters, Township Supervisors

Mayors of Battle Creek, 1859-2013 (may be incomplete!)
Elijah Pendill 1859-61 Alonzo Noble 1862 Chester Buckley 1863 Elijah Pendill 1864 Tolman W. Hall 1865 Theron H. Tracy 1866 Erastus Hussey 1867 William Wallace 1868 Thomas Hart 1869-70 Nelson Eldred 1871 George N. Wakefield 1872 Edward Cox 1873-74 Victory P. Collier 1875 Charles Austin 1876-77 James L. Whitcomb 1878 Clement R. Thompson 1879-80 Edwin C. Nichols 1880 George E. Howes 1881 William C. Gage 1882 Simeon French 1883-84 Frank M. Rathbun 1885 Henry Clay Hall 1886-88 James Green 1889 John W. Bailey 1890 Fred M. Wadleigh 1891 Joseph L. Cox 1892 Austin S. Parker 1893-94 John H. Mykins 1895 Frank Turner 1896 Abraham T. Metcalf 1897 Miles S. Curtis 1898-99 Ephraim W. Moore 1899-1900 Leon M. Gillette 1900-01 Fred H. Webb 1902-04 Frank W. Clapp 1904 George S. Barnes 1905-07 Charles C. Green 1907-09 John W. Bailey 1909-11 Thomas Zellinsky 1911-13 John W. Bailey 1913-15 James W. Marsh 1915-17 Charles Edward Wilson 1917-19 Charles W. Ryan 1919-21 Charles C. Green 1921-27 John W. Bailey 1927-29 William P. Penty 1930-33 J. William Murphy 1933-37 Robert J. Hamilton 1937-39 Floyd H. Barry 1939-43 Bernard E. Godde 1943-47 William V. Bailey 1947-53 Frank C. Wagner 1953-57 Russell V. Worgess 1957-59 Raymond M. Turner 1959-60 Preston J. Kool as of 1967 John J. H. Schwarz 1985-87 Brian K. Kirkham as of 2002 John K. Godfrey as of 2005-07 Mark A. Behnke as of 2008 Susan Baldwin as of 2013

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1880 Apr 5: Edwin C. Nichols (Rep), elected.
  • 1896 Apr 6: Frank Turner (Dem), elected; Fred H. Webb (Rep), defeated.
  • 1899 Apr 3: Ephraim W. Moore (Rep), elected.
  • 1900 Apr 2: Leon M. Gillette (Rep), elected; Abraham T. Metcalf (Dem), defeated.
  • 1901 Apr 1: Leon M. Gillette (Rep), elected; A. B. Williams (Dem), defeated; Brown (Social Democratic), defeated.
  • 1902 Apr 7: Fred H. Webb (Rep), elected.
  • 1903 Apr 6: Fred H. Webb (Rep), elected.
  • 1907 Apr 1: Charles C. Green (Rep), elected.
  • 1909 Apr 5: John W. Bailey (Dem), elected.
  • 1911 Apr 3: Thomas Zellinsky (Rep), elected; Will A. Cady (Dem), defeated.
  • 1921 Apr 4: Charles C. Green, elected; Howard H. Batdorff, defeated.
  • 1923 Apr 2: Charles C. Green (Rep), elected; Howard H. Batdorff, defeated.
  • 1929 Aug 9: John W. Bailey, died in office.
  • 1930 Apr 7: William P. Penty, elected unopposed.
  • 1933 Apr 3: J. William Murphy, elected.

    Village Presidents of Battle Creek, 1850-58 (may be incomplete!)
    William Brooks 1850 Charles Mason 1851-52 Edward Cox 1853 Richard T. Merrill 1854-55 Chester Buckley 1856-57 Jonathan Hart 1858 Leander Etheridge 1858

    Postmasters at Battle Creek, 1834-1973 (may be incomplete!)
    Nedabiah Angell 1834-35 Sands McCamley 1835-41 John L. Bolkcom 1841-45 Alonzo Noble 1845-49 Homer Marsh 1849 Leonard H. Stewart 1849-53 Alonzo Noble 1853-58 William S. Pease 1858 George Mead 1858-59 William M. Campbell 1859-60 George Mead 1860-61 Tolman W. Hall 1861-66 Edward Van Demark 1866-67 Chandler Ford 1867-69 James S. Upton 1869-71 Digby V. Bell 1871 William Wallace 1871-86 John W. Fletcher 1886-90 William H. Mason 1890-94 Charles E. Thomas 1894-98 Frank H. Latta 1898-1906 Miles S. Curtis 1906-14 Edward Austin 1914-23 John C. Davis 1923-24 John C. Davis 1924-36 Frank E. Browning 1936-47 Frank L. Haver 1947-50 James O. Curry 1950-54 Alton C. Britton 1954-58 Martin J. McGee 1958 Aulbirt D. Cox 1958-61 Thomas A. Dowell 1961 Thomas A. Dowell 1961-73

    Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1871 Oct 28: Digby V. Bell, died in office.

    Battle Creek Township
    (merged with Battle Creek city 1983)

    Supervisors of Battle Creek Township, 1901-68 (may be incomplete!)
    Raymond O. Struble as of 1968

    Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1901 Apr 1: George R. Peet (Rep), elected.
  • 1902 Apr 7: George R. Peet (Rep), elected unopposed.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/MI/ofc/battlecreek.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]