The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Allegan, Michigan
Mayors, Village Presidents, Postmasters

Mayors of Allegan, 1915-2015 (may be incomplete!)
Betty McDaniel 2013-14 Deb Leverence 2014-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1915 Apr 5: Burrell Tripp, elected.
  • 1935 Apr 1: Joseph F. Mosier, elected.
  • 1938 Apr 4: Sidney J. Wise (Rep), elected.

    Village Presidents of Allegan, 1838-80 (may be incomplete!)
    William C. Jenner 1838-39 Henry H. Booth 1858-59 Thomas C. Jenner 1859-60 Alanson Case 1860-61 C. W. Calkins 1861-62 Ira Chaffee 1862-63 Charles R. Wilkes 1863-64 E. B. Bassett 1864-65 C. W. Calkins 1865-66 Joseph Fisk 1866-67 Ira Chaffee 1867-69 William B. Jenner 1869-70 Flavius J. Littlejohn 1870-72 John W. Stone 1872-73 Flavius J. Littlejohn 1873-75 Horace B. Peck 1875-76 William C. Weeks 1876-77 John M. Mendel 1877-78 D. C. Henderson 1878-79 Henry F. Thomas 1879-80

    Postmasters at Allegan, 1871-1986 (may be incomplete!)
    Hiram S. Manson 1871-75 G. R. Stone 1875-83 C. H. Adams as of 1887 S. F. Murphy as of 1891 Edwy C. Reid as of 1901-03 William H. Goodman as of 1907-11 Edmund M. Cook 1933-37 Fred Clair McOmber 1937-66 Joseph V. Spreitzer 1966-68 Joseph V. Spreitzer 1968-86

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/MI/ofc/allegan.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]