The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Adrian, Michigan

Mayors of Adrian, 1853-2010 (may be incomplete!)
James Sword 1853 Addison J. Comstock 1853-54 Parley J. Spaulding 1854-55 Francis J. Buck 1855-56 Fernando C. Beaman 1856-57 Richard H. Whitney 1857-58 William L. Greenly 1858-59 Henry Hart 1859-60 William W. Cook 1860-61 Daniel A. Loomis 1861-62 Charles M. Croswell 1862-63 John D. Campbell 1863-64 Benjamin Folsom 1864-65 William S. Wilcox 1865-66 William S. Sammons 1866-67 John Townsend 1867-68 William S. Sammons 1868-69 Norman Geddes 1869-70 Nathaniel B. Eldredge 1870-71 Richard B. Robbins 1871-72 Henry A. Angell 1872-73 William H. Waldby 1873-74 Nelson H. Kimball 1874-76 William W. Luck 1876-77 Charles H. Comstock 1877-78 George H. Bruce 1878-79 Frank O. Bray 1879-80 James A. Stacy 1880-81 Thomas J. Navin 1881-82 William Corbin 1882-84 Richard A. Bury 1884-85 Nelson H. Kimball 1885-86 Daniel Todd 1886-87 Adolph J. Kaiser 1887-89 Abram Wing 1889-90 Seth Bean 1890-91 Leonard W. Hoch 1891-92 Alanson B. Treat 1892-93 William Foster Bradley 1893-94 Charles S. Cain 1894-95 Clifford Kirkpatrick 1895-96 William O. Hunt 1896-97 J. Will Kirk 1897-99 Willard Stearns 1899-1901 James H. Reynolds 1901-02 George B. M. Seager 1902-03 Jacob N. Sampson 1903 W. F. King as of 1907-08 Artemus W. Chase as of 1912-14 George W. Armstrong as of 1936-37 Claude E. Porter as of 1949-56 Roy McPhail as of 1960 Walter F. Bohn as of 1967 Jim Berryman as of 1985-90 Samuel R. Rye as of 2005 Gary McDowell as of 2008-10

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1862: Charles M. Croswell, elected.
  • 1880 Apr 5: James A. Stacy (People's), elected; A. J. Dean (Rep), defeated.
  • 1889 Apr 1: Abram Wing (Rep), elected.
  • 1900 Apr 2: Willard Stearns (Dem), elected.
  • 1902 Apr 7: George B. M. Seager (Dem), elected; D. B. Morgan (Rep), defeated.
  • 1903 Apr 6: Jacob N. Sampson (Rep), elected.
  • 1904 Apr 4: David L. Treat (Dem), elected.
  • 1906 Apr 2: F. S. Barnum (Rep), elected.
  • 1907 Apr 1: W. F. King (Dem), elected.
  • 1908 Apr 6: W. F. King (Dem), elected; Ladd J. Lewis, defeated.
  • 1910 Apr 4: David L. Treat (Dem), elected; Charles Clark (Rep), defeated.
  • 1912 Apr 1: Artemus W. Chase (Dem), elected.
  • 1914 Apr 6: Artemus W. Chase (Dem), elected.
  • 1915 Apr 5: A. D. Billings, elected.
  • 1919 Apr 7: John C. Howell, elected.
  • 1923 Apr 2: Herbert R. Clark, elected.
  • 1949 Apr 4: Claude E. Porter, elected.

    Postmasters at Adrian, 1828-1972 (may be incomplete!)
    Addison J. Comstock 1828-40 Judson H. Chittenden 1840-41 Addison J. Comstock 1841-43 Abel Whitney 1843-49 Warner M. Comstock 1849-53 Clark B. Backus 1853-61 Charles Redfield 1861-69 William A. Whitney 1869-73 Jerome H. Fee 1873-85 Willard Stearns 1885-90 William Humphrey 1890-93 Leonard W. Hoch 1893-97 Alfred W. Smith 1897-1902 Frank E. Priddy 1902-09 Thomas A. Dailey 1909-13 Michael L. Gillen 1913-21 Robert Darnton 1921-25 Fred A. Acker 1925 Fred A. Acker 1925-34 Henry I. Bourns 1934 Henry I. Bourns 1934-44 Perry F. Frownfelder 1944-49 Perry F. Frownfelder 1949-57 Budd A. Goodwin 1957-61 Dorman S. Jurden 1961-62 Dorman S. Jurden 1962-72

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/MI/ofc/adrian.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]