The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Postmasters of Presque Isle and Phair, Maine
including Phair, South Presque Isle

Postmasters at Presque Isle, 1843-1977 (may be incomplete!)
William Towle 1843-48 Sumner Whitney 1848-49 Noah Chandler, Jr. 1849-50 David Dudley 1850-52 Joseph B. Hall 1852-53 Sumner Whitney 1853 John T. McBrien 1853-54 Cyrus Jordan 1854 Joseph B. Hall 1854-57 Zebulon Rowe 1857-59 G. H. Freeman 1859-61 Lorenzo B. Hill 1861-62 David B. Pike 1862-67 Daniel Stickney 1867-74 Lydia A. Whitney 1874-82 George M. Luce 1882-85 Theresa A. Parker 1885-89 Arthur C. Perry 1889-93 Amasa Howe 1893-97 James H. Phair 1897-1914 Vivian E. Home 1914-22 Edward I. Waddell 1922-35 Orrin J. Bishop 1935-36 Orrin J. Bishop 1936-53 William D. Halloran 1953-54 William D. Halloran 1954-77


Postmasters at Phair, 1901 (may be incomplete!)
Fred T. Humphrey as of 1901

South Presque Isle

Postmasters at South Presque Isle, 1901 (may be incomplete!)
George B. Whidden as of 1901

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/ME/ofc/presqueisle.html .  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]