The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Portland, Maine
including Cliff Island, Deering Center, Diamond, East Deering, Long Island, Peaks Island, Stroudwater, Woodfords
Mayors, Postmasters

Mayors of Portland, 1832-1992 (may be incomplete!)
Jonathan Dow 1832 Andrew L. Emerson 1832 John Anderson 1833 Levi Cutter 1834-40 James C. Churchill 1841 John Anderson 1842 Eliphalet Greely 1843-48 J. B. Cahoon 1849-50 Neal Dow 1851 Albion K. Parris 1852 J. B. Cahoon 1853-54 Neal Dow 1855 J. T. McCobb 1856 William Willis 1857 Jedediah Jewett 1858-59 Joseph Howard 1860 W. W. Thomas 1861-62 Jacob McLellan 1863-65 A. E. Stevens 1866-68 Jacob McLellan 1868-69 William Lebaron Putnam 1869-70 Benjamin Kingsbury, Jr. 1870-73 George P. Wescott 1873-75 R. M. Richardson 1875-76 Francis Fessenden 1876-77 Moses M. Butler 1877-79 George Walker 1879-80 William Senter 1880-82 Charles F. Libby 1882-83 John W. Deering 1883-84 Marquis F. King 1884-85 John W. Deering 1885-86 Charles J. Chapman 1886-89 Holman S. Melcher 1889-91 George W. True 1891-92 Darius H. Ingraham 1892 James P. Baxter 1893-96 Charles H. Randall 1897-98 Frank W. Robinson 1899-1900 Frederic E. Boothby 1901-03 James P. Baxter 1904-05 Nathan Clifford 1906-07 Adam P. Leighton 1908-09 Charles A. Strout 1910 Oakley C. Curtis 1911-14 William M. Ingraham 1915 Wilford G. Chapman 1916-17 Charles B. Clarke 1918-21 Carroll S. Chaplin 1922-23 Tom Allen as of 1991-92

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1872 Mar 4: Benjamin Kingsbury, Jr. (Rep), elected; Cleaves (Dem), defeated; Morgan (Citizens), defeated.
  • 1873 Mar 3: George P. Wescott (Rep), elected; Cleaves (Dem), defeated.
  • 1874 Mar 2: George P. Wescott (Rep), elected.
  • 1894 Mar 5: James P. Baxter (Rep), elected.
  • 1895 Mar 4: James P. Baxter (Rep), elected; George E. Bird (Dem), defeated; Deering (Prohibition), defeated.
  • 1896: George E. Bird, defeated.
  • 1898: Darius H. Ingraham (Dem), defeated.
  • 1901 Dec 2: Frederic E. Boothby (Rep), elected; John F. A. Merrill (Dem), defeated; Daniel P. Parker (Prohibition), defeated.
  • 1909 Dec 6: Charles A. Strout (Rep), elected; Oakley C. Curtis (Dem), defeated; Percy F. Morse (Socialist), defeated; William F. Eustis (Prohibition), defeated.
  • 1912 Dec 2: Oakley C. Curtis (Dem), elected; Walter G. Hay (Rep), defeated; Charles Oerter, Jr. (Socialist), defeated; Chester I. Orr (Prohibition), defeated.

    Postmasters at Portland, 1804-1970 (may be incomplete!)
    Thomas M. Prentiss 1804-05 Joshua Wingate, Jr. 1805 James Wingate 1805-15 Robert Ilsley 1815-28 Nathaniel Low 1828-29 Nathaniel Mitchell 1829-34 Thomas Todd 1834-39 Nathaniel Mitchell 1839-41 Sylvanus R. Lyman 1841-45 Nathan L. Woodbury 1845-49 Joshua Dunn 1849-53 Nathan L. Woodbury 1853-57 Samuel Jordan 1857-61 Andrew T. Dole 1861-65 Woodbury Davis 1865-71 Charles W. Goddard 1871-84 Clark H. Barker 1884-85 Joshua S. Palmer 1885-90 Herbert G. Briggs 1890-91 John C. Small 1891-96 George L. Swett 1896-1900 Clark H. Barker 1900-05 Fred H. King 1905-13 Oscar R. Wish 1913-22 Charles A. Robinson 1922-34 Helen C. Donahue 1934 Helen C. Donahue 1934-49 James A. McVicar 1949-51 Joseph L. Cook 1951-60 Edward I. Bernstein 1960-62 John R. Fortin 1962 John R. Fortin 1962-70

    Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1905 Jan 21: Clark H. Barker, died in office.

    Cliff Island

    Postmasters at Cliff Island, 1901 (may be incomplete!)
    Lillie W. Southard as of 1901

    Deering Center

    Postmasters at Deering Center, 1889 (may be incomplete!)
    C. S. Chadbourne as of 1889


    Postmasters at Diamond, 1901 (may be incomplete!)
    C. H. Ross as of 1901

    East Deering

    Postmasters at East Deering, 1889 (may be incomplete!)
    E. Knight as of 1889

    Long Island

    Postmasters at Long Island, 1901 (may be incomplete!)
    Samuel H. Marston as of 1901

    Peaks Island

    Postmasters at Peaks Island, 1901 (may be incomplete!)
    M. Morse as of 1901


    Postmasters at Stroudwater, 1893 (may be incomplete!)
    E. M. Jacobs as of 1893


    Postmasters at Woodfords, 1893 (may be incomplete!)
    William H. Motley as of 1893

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/ME/ofc/portland.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]