The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Lewiston, Maine
including South Lewiston
Mayors, Postmasters

Mayors of Lewiston, 1863-1968 (may be incomplete!)
Jacob B. Ham 1863-64 William P. Frye 1865-66 George H. Pillsbury 1867 Isaac N. Parker 1868-69 William H. Stevens 1870 Alonzo M. Garcelon 1871-72 David Cowan 1872-73 N. W. Farwell 1873-74 Henry H. Dickey 1874-75 Edmund Russell 1875-78 Jesse S. Lyford 1878-79 Joseph H. Day 1879-81 Mandeville T. Ludden 1881-82 David Farrar 1882-83 Alonzo Marston Garcelon 1883-84 Nelson Howard 1884-85 Charles Walker 1885-86 David Cowan 1886-87 Daniel J. McGillicuddy 1887-88 Horace C. Little 1888-90 Daniel J. McGillicuddy 1890-91 William H. Newell 1891-93 Seth Chandler, Jr. 1893-94 Frank L. Noble 1894-97 Wilbur H. Judkins 1897-98 William H. Newell 1898-99 George Pottle 1899-1900 George W. Furbush 1900-02 Daniel J. McGillicuddy 1902-03 William B. Skelton 1903-05 William E. Webster 1905-07 Frank A. Morey 1907-13 William H. Hines 1913-14 R. J. Wiseman 1914-15 Louis J. Brann 1915-17 Charles P. Lemaire 1917-21 William H. Newell 1921-22 Louis J. Brann 1922-25 Robert J. Wiseman 1926-29 Harold N. Skelton 1930-31 Henry N. Paradis 1932-33 Robert J. Wiseman 1933-35 Donat J. Levesque 1936-38 Edward J. Beauchamp 1939 Fernand Despins 1939-40 Edmond J. Lambert 1941 Alton A. Lessard as of 1945 Roland L. Marcotte as of 1953-54 William Rocheleau, Jr. as of 1967-68

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1872 Mar 4: David Cowan (Rep), elected; J. P. Gill (Dem), defeated.
  • 1873 Mar 3: N. W. Farwell, elected.
  • 1874 Mar 2: Henry H. Dickey (Dem), elected.
  • 1891 Mar 2: William H. Newell (Dem), elected; Potter (Rep), defeated.
  • 1892 Mar 7: William H. Newell (Dem), elected; Seth Chandler, Jr. (Rep), defeated.
  • 1893 Mar 6: Seth Chandler, Jr. (Rep), elected; L. J. Martel (Dem), defeated.
  • 1894 Mar 5: Frank L. Noble (Rep), elected.
  • 1895 Mar 4: Frank L. Noble (Rep), elected.
  • 1905 Mar 6: William E. Webster (Dem), elected; Herbert H. Purinton (Rep), defeated.
  • 1909 Mar 1: Frank A. Morey (Dem), elected; J. G. Chabot (Rep), defeated.
  • 1912 Mar 4: Frank A. Morey (Dem), elected; Elwin L. Hodgkins (Rep), defeated.
  • 1926: Benjamin L. Berman (Rep), defeated.

    Postmasters at Lewiston, 1799-1978 (may be incomplete!)
    Daniel Read 1799-1839 William R. Frye 1839-42 Mark Lowell 1842-46 Nelson B. Reynolds 1846-49 John Smith 1849 Oliver Herrick 1849-52 John Herrick 1852-53 William R. Frye 1853-61 Joseph P. Fessenden 1861-70 George A. Parker 1870-79 Horace C. Little 1879-87 Charles Walker 1887-91 William T. Smart 1891-95 Charles Walker 1895-98 William T. Smart 1898-1913 Menander Dennett 1913-21 Ralph T. Rowe 1921-22 William C. Bryant 1922-29 Ralph T. Rowe 1929 Joseph Otto Fisher 1929-32 Ralph T. Rowe 1932-33 Charles P. Lemaire 1933-34 Charles P. Lemaire 1934-56 Ronaldo E. Cailler 1956-59 Joseph H. Albert 1959-78

    Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1898 Jun 7: Charles Walker, died in office.

    South Lewiston
    (now Lewiston)

    Postmasters at South Lewiston, 1883-1901 (may be incomplete!)
    H. W. Knowles as of 1883-1901

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/ME/ofc/lewiston.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]