The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Hallowell, Maine

Mayors of Hallowell, 1852-1931 (may be incomplete!)
Rufus K. Page 1852-55 A. H. Howard 1855-57 Jesse Aiken 1857-59 Henry Cooper, Jr. 1859 Moses B. Lakeman 1860-66 Simon Page 1866-69 James Atkins, Jr. 1870-72 John H. Lowell 1873 Peter F. Sanborn 1874 John H. Lowell 1875 John W. Clark 1876-77 George S. Fuller 1878-79 J. R. Bodwell 1880 James H. Leigh 1881-82 J. J. Jones 1883 J. R. Bodwell 1884 Augustine Lord 1885-86 J. Warren Fuller 1887-88 B. F. Warner 1889 Eliphalet Rowell 1890 Fred E. Beane 1891 William A. Winter 1892-93 Lorenzo D. Merchant 1894-95 George A. Safford 1896-99 Ben Tenney 1900-01 James E. Lunt 1902 J. Warren Fuller 1903-04 Clement S. Goodwin 1905-06 Fred E. Beane 1907 Dana C. Skillings 1908-09 Frank S. Wingate 1910 Emery O. Beane 1911-13 Samuel G. Otis 1914-15 John M. Robinson 1916-23 Charles K. Tilden 1924-27 William F. Henderson 1928-31

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1905 Mar 6: Clement S. Goodwin (Rep), elected; Ernest S. Currier (Dem), defeated.
  • 1909 Mar 1: Dana C. Skillings (Rep), elected unopposed.
  • 1927 Oct 19: Charles K. Tilden, died in office.

    Postmasters at Hallowell, 1860-1901 (may be incomplete!)
    T. W. Newman 1860-61 Thomas Hovey 1861 Eliphalet Rowell 1866-78 J. B. Thomas as of 1883-85 Denny K. Jewell as of 1889-93 P. H. Leighton as of 1895-97 Denny K. Jewell as of 1899-1901

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/ME/ofc/hallowell.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]