The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Gardiner, Maine
including South Gardiner
Mayors, Postmasters

Mayors of Gardiner, 1850-1953 (may be incomplete!)
Robert H. Gardiner 1850 Parker Sheldon 1851 Robert Thompson 1852 Edward Swan 1853 Noah Woods 1854-58 H. B. Hoskins 1859-60 Noah Woods 1861-62 James Nash 1863-64 N. O. Mitchell 1865-66 G. W. Wilcox 1867 Joshua Gray 1867-70 D. C. Palmer 1871-73 H. M. Wentworth 1874-75 J. B. Dingley 1876-78 D. C. Palmer 1879-80 J. E. Ladd 1881 William Perkins 1882-83 S. E. Johnson 1884-85 J. E. Ladd 1886 John W. Berry 1887-88 Albert M. Spear 1889-92 James B. Dingley 1893 Oliver B. Clason 1894-96 James Walker 1897-98 Freeman Patten 1899-1900 Frederic Danforth 1901-02 Edwin L. Russell 1903-04 Charles A. Knight 1905-06 Will C. Atkins 1907-08 Charles H. Gray 1909-10 Bert E. Lamb 1911-17 Charles J. Bragdon 1918-20 Bert E. Lamb 1921-22 Percy K. Hanson as of 1953

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1891 Mar 2: Albert M. Spear (Rep), elected unopposed.
  • 1894 Mar 5: Oliver B. Clason (Rep), elected unopposed.
  • 1895 Mar 4: Oliver B. Clason (Rep), elected unopposed.
  • 1905 Mar 6: Charles A. Knight (Rep), elected; John E. Cunningham (Citizens), defeated.
  • 1909 Mar 1: Charles H. Gray (Rep), elected unopposed.

    Postmasters at Gardiner, 1804-1970 (may be incomplete!)
    Barzillai Gannett 1804-09 Seth Gay 1809-35 William Palmer 1835-41 Thomas Gay 1841-45 Joseph Merrill 1845-49 Lawson H. Green 1849-53 Frederick P. Theobold 1853-57 Charles A. White 1857-61 John Berry 1861-66 Samuel D. Clay 1866-67 John Berry 1867-82 Daniel A. Palmer 1882-86 Charles A. White 1886-90 Eleazer A. Atwood 1890-92 Fred E. Milliken 1892-96 Fred M. Noyes 1896-1900 George D. Libby 1900-13 William R. Frost 1913-21 Arthur E. Smith 1921-22 Charles J. Bragdon 1922-34 David F. Kelley 1934-35 David F. Kelley 1935-50 Stephen D. Monaghan 1950 James A. Morang 1950-54 Donald D. Willis 1954 Donald D. Willis 1954-70

    South Gardiner

    Postmasters at South Gardiner, 1901 (may be incomplete!)
    Abbie P. Lawrence as of 1901

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/ME/ofc/gardiner.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]