The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Eastport, Maine

Mayors of Eastport, 1893-1936 (may be incomplete!)
Sam D. Leavitt 1893 Charles W. Hume 1894-96 W. F. Cleveland 1897 Sam D. Leavitt 1898-1900 Charles M. Buxton 1901-02 W. S. Mildon 1903 J. H. McFaul 1904 Albert Greenlaw 1905-06 Jeff M. Swett 1907 A. H. Leavitt 1908 Walter J. Garnett 1909-11 Jeff M. Swett 1912 John P. Hutchison 1913 Edgar M. Cherry 1914-15 Fred T. Eldredge 1916-18 Edward C. Firth 1919 John N. Henward 1920-21 Fred B. Spear 1922 Edward F. Heffron 1923 Edward C. Firth 1924-25 Frank A. Havey 1926-27 Roscoe C. Emery 1928-31 Wallace F. Mabee 1932-33 Fay B. Reilly 1933-34 Roscoe C. Emery 1935-36

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1894 Mar 5: Charles W. Hume (Rep), elected unopposed.
  • 1895 Mar 4: Charles W. Hume (Rep), elected; Sam D. Leavitt (Dem), defeated.
  • 1905 Mar 6: Albert Greenlaw (Rep), elected; Hiram G. Blanchard, defeated.
  • 1909 Mar 1: Walter J. Garnett (Rep), elected; Jeff M. Swett (Dem), defeated.

    Postmasters at Eastport, 1860-1978 (may be incomplete!)
    Warren Hathaway 1860-61 C. C. Norton 1861 Charles C. Newton as of 1883 G. W. Norton as of 1885 Frank McGraw as of 1889 Henry N. Paine as of 1893 Jeff M. Swett as of 1895-97 Charles A. Paine as of 1899-1901 Jenny N. Paine as of 1907 Albert Greenlaw as of 1909 Charles E. Davis as of 1931 Louis A. White 1934-35 Louis A. White 1935-50 Genevieve R. MacNichol 1950-52 Ashton M. Mabee 1952-67 Joseph A. Collins 1967 Nathan Cohen 1967-69 Harry A. Turner 1969-78

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/ME/ofc/eastport.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]